Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>
2009 Nairac, Sauternes
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This sensational wine combines aromas and flavors of clover honey, saffron, pineapple, orange spice tea and sweet scented wildflowers. Full-bodied without being unctuous, an oily sleekness holds the mid-palate and a mineral/acid tension glides along the long finish. This really over-delivers for the price.

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.7" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I adore this winery, they farm biodynamic, ensuring their estate is lined with indigenous flowers, plants and animals adding to their unique terroir. With high elevation for a cooler climate and a unique topsoil called "fynbos," which gives their wines a distinct vegetal, black olive quality, this Sauv Blanc is killer. It’s more reminiscent of cool weather Sauv Blanc, with crisp acidity, zesty citrus fruits like orange and lime but with a unique green nose with hints of jalapeno, black olive and lemon rind. An excellent, well-done wine, a must-have for 2013.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I am already a fan of the TWR wines, but this 2013 Pinot Noir elevated their quality to another level with the same great price! The 2013 was an amazing vintage for New Zealand, but I think what really made a difference this year is the addition of a second vineyard in this wine. The new addition is a vineyard from a steep, north facing slope (which is the sunny side in the Southern Hemisphere) with clay soils. The clay soil brings a silky mouth feel that I love! This wine has a great balance of red and dark currant, with a lot of spice, flint and earth. The complexity far exceeds the price. Enjoy!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Underwood by Union Wine Co. Oregon Pinot Gris (375ml can)
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  OK people, have a little faith in us, here--this wine is incredibly quaffable and delicious! Perfect for a summer picnic in the park, in the ice bucket poolside, on a hike up to a beautiful sunset or even backpacking in the woods, this little half bottle in a can delivers all of the freshness you would hope for. Melon, citrus, peach and medium acidity! I'm in! Just be careful--it's two glasses in one can!
Price: $5.99 Add To Cart BC 0

El Dorado 12 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  A great rum that is distilled from molasses. It is rich, round, sweet and delicious. While this rum is on the sweeter and richer side, it is not sugary and has complexity to balance it out.
Price: $25.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Cave de Tavel "Lauzeraies" Tavel
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  A wonderful rosé for any occasion. It is dry, bright, round and packed full of deep red fruit flavors. It is great alone and will go well with Mediterranean style foods.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

El Dorado 15 year old Demerara Guyana Rum 750ml (ships in a 1.5 box)
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This rum is both tasty and interesting. It has the winning sweetness that one would expect from a rum from Guyana. The El Dorado 15 is also very complex, with layers of flavors from sweet to an almost subtle earthiness.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma "Old Bush Vines" Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I was so pleasantly surprised by all the Pirramimma wines and the pricing is just CRAZY good! This pure Grenache is from a vineyard called the "Prisoner of War" which was planted in 1944! These vines have produced a fine, rich, wild bramble flavored wine. Lots of gamey meaty notes reminiscent of the Southern Rhone. Toasted spice and dark-edged fruit fill the mid-palate. Beautifully polished tannins that have benefited from time in bottle. The wine finishes with a sandalwood note that lingers long on the palate. Exceptional value on this K&L exclusive deal.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I was really surprised by the elegance and flavor integration of this wine. I like Sauvignon Blanc but I don't like the overtly grassy versions or the exceedingly neutral, pseudo-Chardonnay styles either. This wine (once you get past the name) has energy, with fresh, almost citrusy flavor showing a brighter more focused wine. I love this style of wine with richer seafood or a grilled calamari, or with a runny poached egg over grilled asparagus. This isn't the first place you'd probably look for Sauvignon but it will be on your list after you have this wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Pure, elegant, focused, silky, layered and exotic. The descriptors could go on and on but all you need to do is buy a bottle and see for yourself. Next level quality from TWR; one of the best NZ Pinots I have tasted, period.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Chardonnay Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  NZ Chard is something that I think people don't understand. With all the hype about Kiwi Sauvignon Blanc, Chard and Riesling from down here don't get the attention of praise they deserve. TWR's 2013 Chard is tightly focused and precise. The wine combines richness and exotic fruit from the 35-year-old vines with flinty mineral tones and firm acidity. Certainly a Burgundy lover's wine rather than a butter bomb, but I think this will put on weight as the months and years go by. I really love Jason and Anna's ambition for their few rows of magic Chardonnay vines.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Teutonic "Laurel Vineyard - Bergspitze Schwarz" Chehalem Mountains Pinot Noir
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  There are plenty of people who will tell you that the 2011 vintage in Oregon was terrible. Horrible. Totally awful. Unfortunately for the winemakers in Oregon, that's all a lot of wine lovers ever hear. Unfortunate, I say, because so many of the wines made from the vintage are actually quite lovely--lean, aromatic and distinctive. Take this Pinot from the folks at Teutonic. It's the color of fire and ice roses, with a stunning, spicy and floral nose that makes me think of Chiavanesca. Taut fruit, this is not for people who like BIG Pinots, but if you like your wines like carefully crafted lace, this is for you.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma "Old Bush Vines" Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  All of the Pirramimma wines are crazy good for the money, and have some bottle development as well. I have always been a fan of the '04 vintage which was a bit cooler and offered fine balance and structure. This Grenache has a lifted nose with smoky raspberry, dark cherry, cedar, clove, nutmeg and some meaty notes. On the palate there are supple tannins with good length.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma Petit Verdot McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Jim Chanteloup | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  Oddly enough, Petit Verdot has always been the "sleeper" varietal for this property. There is a fine bouquet with cedar, pencil lead, dark plum, red currant, pomegranate, some high-toned floral notes, tobacco leaf and a hint of dark chocolate. On the palate there is moderate acidity with fine-grained tannins and very good length. Very cool wine, and a steal at $15.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I love Sauvignon Blanc but as one might expect I am overly picky (who would have guessed) about the overtly grassy ones--for me, what so many NZ versions taste of is Jalapeno Jelly. For me, TWR's wines don't have that character but still taste like they're from NZ. The wines have body, drive and aromatic correctness but without that under-ripeness that I so dislike. Enough about the negatives, the wine is so pungent, savory, just decidedly flavorful, with sultry aromatics that segue onto the palate and those flavors give way to a textural density coupled with a good, mineral-driven center. The wine then has a long finish that brings the flavors and texture to a crescendo. Very, very good wine.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma "Old Bush Vines" Grenache McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I really liked this wine’s smoky aromatics: savory, meaty, beef stew; almost just a rush of saturated flavors. On the palate the wine has a fleshy, supple and plush feel yet is balanced by a forceful acidity that brings the wine together on the palate. Soupy Aussie wines don’t do it for me but this wine crossed over into a really fun, rustic BBQ wine that will be sure to please lots of different palates.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Bethel Heights "Estate" Eola-Amity Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This comes from the underrated 2011 vintage, and from one of my favorite Oregon producers. Its nose offers a cascade of rose petals, spices, red fruit, mulch and white pepper. On the palate, it's integrated, lovely and spicy, with a subtly tannic foundation that just needs food or a little air to tame it.

2004 Pirramimma Petit Verdot McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I don't get a chance to taste much pure Petit Verdot but when I do I sometimes find them overly extracted or having very high tannin levels. This wine isn't anything like that; I really enjoyed this wine’s character; deep flavors flowing into a bold, lush palate presence where those powerful flavors seemed to accumulate into one big bass drum pounding a thick, rich and pleasing mouth-feel. Definitely a BBQ wine and for the price this is really worth checking out.
Drink from 2014 to 2017
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2011 Lange "Reserve" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  Red cherry, sandalwood, red plum, red currant and thyme with medium plus acidity and soft, elegant tannin. This wine is classic Dundee Hills Pinot!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Benchmark Marlborough Savvy. Sure there are plenty of quirky styles now coming from New Zealand that are equally exciting but this quote from the winemaker Jason Flowerday sums up the wine perfectly: "Hand on heart, I love Sauvignon Blanc, it should be juicy, it should be ripe, it should be able to age, I don’t want to make "alternative" Sauvignon, I just want to make it as good as it can be. We want Sauvignon Blanc that makes your mouth water and makes you want another glass"...as this baby sure does that!
Top Value!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Teutonic "Laurel Vineyard - Bergspitze Weisse" Chehalem Mountains Pinot Noir
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I loved both the Bergspitze Pinots we brought in from Teutonic. The 2012 from the Bergspitze Weisse is really gorgeous, with a filigreed bouquet redolent of anise seed, rosewater, roasted fennel, forest floor and green tea, all of which are deftly woven together on the palate with tart black fruit. There's a lot of wine here for the money. If you like your Pinot with backbone and restrained fruit, this is for you.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Teutonic "Crow Valley Vineyard" Willamette Valley Riesling
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  I love German Riesling; it gives me the tingles. It's rare that I find domestic Riesling that evokes the same feeling, but Teutonic nailed it with this one. It has a distinctive, citrus and beeswax nose with a subtle underpinning of botrytis. All those characteristics are well-integrated on the palate, which is precise and long. Delicious.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Teutonic "Maresh Vineyard" Dundee Hills Pinot Gris
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is a super aromatic Pinot Gris made in the Alsatian style, with just a touch of RS. Aromas of citrus and cream carry over to the palate, which finishes flinty and long.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Gaston Rivière Francois 1er Vieux Pineau Des Charantes 750ml
 By: Adam Winkel | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  All I can say is: wow! Notes of mushroom, marshmallow, orange and lemon. This is refreshing and delightful, and just a touch funky.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bigallet Viriana China China Amer 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is a cane-based French bitter macerated with bitter oranges and distilled three times. The floral orange aromas are complemented by flavors of clove and anise, with added bitterness from China bark. Quite viscous and mouthwatering. Use in place of Aperol in a spritz!
Price: $37.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Nonino Quintessentia Amaro 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  There's a reason this grape distillate-based Amaro from Friuli is one of our biggest sellers, it's the easiest-drinking Amaro I've every tried! Cocoa-dusted orange, cream, butterscotch, roasted nuts, lemon pitch and rosewater notes. Don't waste this in a cocktail, it sips smoothly on its own.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart WE 96 BC 0

Amaro Montenegro Di Bologna 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is one of the most popular Amari in Italy. Packed with notes of nutmeg and bitter orange, it's very pretty and soft on the palate. It has a creamy, not-too-bitter creamsicle character. Medium-sweet.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart WE 97 BC 0

Lucano Amaro 750ml
 By: Leah Greenstein | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  The last time I ordered an Averna at the end of a meal, I sat considering its medicinal, bitter qualities, and lamenting its syrupy sweetness. The Lucano has the best of Averna's herbaceousness, with earthy, bitter citrus flavors and a light, balanced texture.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  From the oldest Riesling vines on the property and some of the oldest in New Zealand. Intense linear drive, persistence and minerality. Crisp, focused acidity but nothing astringent or harsh. Just so refreshing, mouthwatering and food friendly. This is a summer classic.
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "M" Marlborough
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Any fan of Kabinett to Spatlese Riesling will appreciate this bottle. A fascinating combination of juicy exotic richness, racy acidity and wet stoney minerality (everything I want in Riesling!) Tastes drier than the 30g/l RS suggests thanks to the mouthwatering acidity.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2024
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Beaux Frères Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  This blew me away! Never light in style, the 2012 is about as full and opulent as you can get from Oregon without being clumsy and disjointed. Despite its size and power, this wine has wonderful perfume and freshness, as well as length. I would love to hold a few bottles of this for five years or so to see how it rounds out.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Pirramimma Petit Verdot McLaren Vale South Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/14/2014 | Send Email
  Potentially my favorite of the 04 Pirriamimma bottles. This wine shows that not only is Petit Verdot a very useful blending component but that it can also stand alone and make very compelling wine. This shows tons of fresh tobacco, crushed mint, cigar box and small berry forest fruits. The tannin structure is beautifully developed at ten years of age but retains ample grip to tease out the wine long on the palate. Excellent persistence and brightness for a wine of this age especially when you consider our fantastic pricing on this bottle! Any Bordeaux lover will appreciate this wine and the price is very hard to beat!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/13/2014 | Send Email
  The #3 Sauvignon Blanc is their version of a more tropical style Sauv Blanc. It’s quite aromatic with white flower, kiwi and grapefruit and tropical flavors on the palate like passion fruit, honeydew and lemon zest. A very bright, flavor intensive Sauv Blanc with lovely acidity, perfect for those hot summer days.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 7/12/2014 | Send Email
  The previous 2012 vintage of this wine was heavy on the green bell pepper, tomato leaf type characteristics. On the contrary, the warmer 2013 vintage has brought a rounder, more fruit forward style SB and I think it is delicious! Even though it has more fruit than it has in the past, this wine is far from being overly ripe. Apple, lime blossom, and white floral notes are paired with a crisp acidity and chalky minerality. Yum!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Love classic Brunello? Don't have as much patience as you might need!? Grab some of this little baby from one of our top Direct Import Brunello producers Baricci. All the classic flavors of Montalcino but ready to go now and a price tag barely over $20! Baricci is a very classic producer. The wines are about purity, elegance and balance. They are very food friendly and versatile. The 2012 vintage is remarkable supple and forward allowing easy drinking with dry, harsh tannins. This wine is always a huge hit with our staff so you better snag some now before we drink it all!
Top Value!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Baricci Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 7/12/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another stellar effort from Baricci (my favorite Direct Import Brunello producer that we work with). This amazing vineyard site on Montosoli produces wines with such elegance, purity and drive. The wines are always precise and balanced and this 2009 is no different. What is really nice about this wine is that it is so accessible now! The flavors are bright and youthful but there is no hard tannin. A very classic flavor profile, beautifully unadorned by oak, dusty red and darker fruit tinges, sweet leather, spice and warm earth. Supple and drinkable now but will surely give lots of pleasure over the next decade (at least).
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2025
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart ST 91 BC 0

Balcones Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  I would seriously never have considered a Texas single malt whisky unless it was sitting in front of me, nearly daring me, saying, hey, I dare ya. What a surprise. A surprisingly developed aroma of roasted walnut, with a deep, darkly sherried palate that reminds me a little of, say, the Cragganmore 23, but with cinnamon spice, too--not in a bourbony way. This rich, dark single malt may be not quite as complex of some of our older, nutty Scotch single malts, but it is a really great effort from the single star, I mean the Lone Star state.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lost Spirits Distillery Leviathan III Single Malt Whiskey 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  Like the "Seascape," there's a honey-maple smoked sweetness to the aroma, but in the Leviathon, it trends toward leathery, like a sweet-smelling new leather handbag or something; nutty and rich, the fire on the back palate is delayed, but still there, on this whisky. Definitely exceeds my expectations for a California single malt whisky.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Lost Spirits Distillery Seascape II Single Malt Whiskey 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  "Warning" duly noted, but this whisky was as friendly as a Sunday brunch...sweet, smoky maple syrup on the nose, glazed ham notes, and rich palate...until the hot "kick" up the retronasal on the finish. Definitely different, has a structure, and with the smoky maple aromas, it's quite intriguing.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1989 Cragganmore 23 Year Old Faultline Single Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  Is it any wonder that this is richer than the silky, golden Cragganmore 12? This one's a deep gold-bronze, has a deeply nutty aroma of caramelized walnuts, and an earthy touch of wet plaster. Good, rich sipping, and very interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Kilchoman K&L Exclusive Single Bourbon Barrel #74 Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  Wow, this is a spicy, forward, yet ethereal whisky with a distinctive personality, indeed. Mr. Driscoll got it right about the cinnamon Red Hots aroma that hits your nose on the wind of a burning field of flowering heather. My only previous taste of Kilchoman was a wee airplane bottle of young, lightly heathery whisky; this one's richer, and more sure of itself--the only comparison I can make is with Port Charlotte Scottish Barley Heavily Peated.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  This organically and biodynamically-grown Pinot Noir shows a bit more flesh than past vintages, as it comes from two vineyards. One has gravelly soil, the other is a steep slope with more clay. The result is a Pinot of both finesse and power, at a very reasonable price for the quality. Bravo!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  OK, folks, this is a crazy good deal. A splash of barrel-fermented Semillon adds complexity and a nice fig note to the mid-palate. But the overwhelming impression is of pure, focused Sauvignon Blanc with the minerality you expect from mountain fruit. It is a crazy world, where this wine can travel half-way around the world and make it to our shelves, still at such a value price!
Top Value!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 7/11/2014 | Send Email
  I have to admit I was expecting something a little fruitier and rounder after tasting the 2012 vintage, but the 2013 is excellent. It’s really well balanced, adding a little earth, spice and tannins. There’s an excellent leafy, brambly quality to this wine that I love, integrated into the cranberry, black cherry and raspberry fruits. A great Pinot and a great vintage from TWR.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 La Fortuna Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A long time K&L favorite La Fortuna’s Brunello is a product of two growing zones in Montalcino. The winery’s home vineyard and winery is a short distance east of the town of Montalcino right next to one of Montalcino’s big names Fuligni and just scant meters across the valley from another super star, Siro Pacenti. La Fortuna’s home vineyard gives their Brunello a focused core and structure with high-toned fruit aromatics; they also own a vineyard just south of Castelnuovo dell’Abate (just like Siro Pacenti) the strong southern facing gives the wine from this vineyard a riper, deeper, more saturated flavor. In this 2009 La Fortuna Brunello the two vineyards are blended together creating a wine with a centered core of structure with a cherry, plumy richness woven into the heart of the wine. Supple yet lively on the palate, this wine is perfect for richer dishes; perhaps a creamy, porcini risotto where the fruit and earthy flavors join together. A beef stew...or Cinghiale if you really want to be authentic would be ideal as well.
Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Ferrero Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  Big wine, little price!!! Do not let the price make you think that this is a lesser wine. This is a great '09 Brunello that you can open tonight and will drink well over the next couple of years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Bodegas Castano "Solanera Vinas Viejas" Yecla
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  The Bodegas Castano Solanera V.V. completely over-delivers! This 2012 delivers a crisp nose of crunchy berries, dried flowers and fresh pepper. On the palate, purple and tart, dark red fruits are noticeable with a nice hint of toasted oak. Aging in American and French oak really adds a depth to this bright, fresh wine, leaving a lovely satin mouthfeel. The finish continues with herbal, eucalyptus, and blueberry flavors. Get a few bottles now. If you wait, you might miss out!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart RP 94 BC 0

2012 Bodegas Castano "Solanera Vinas Viejas" Yecla
 By: Mellyn Craig | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  This wine is a little too easy to drink! The 2012 Bodegas Castano Solenera Vinas Viejas Yecla is bursting with ripe blue and black fruits, balanced out with spice, herbs, anise and flowers. The tannins are well-integrated and have a light dusty quality that brings a hint of cocoa powder to the wine. If you bring this wine to your next BBQ party, you will be very popular!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart RP 94 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Riesling "D" Marlborough
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  As an unabashed fan of Riesling, and a very occasional drinker of Sauvignon Blanc (no disrespect to all you SB fans out there, it's just typically not my thing) I would like to encourage you to try something new. Step outside your comfort zone, and live dangerously! Well, not too dangerously, since you probably already know and love TWR's Sauvignon Blanc, possibly their Pinot Noir as well. Their Riesling "D" has beautifully focused citric flavors, with a soft texture and lots of length. Try this dry Riesling; you may find that you have a new favorite.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Seventh Cuvée" Red Blend
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 7/10/2014 | Send Email
  Morgan Twain-Peterson may be the most talented young winemaker in United States. How could he not be, growing up in vineyards beside his well-known father, winemaker Joel Peterson (Ravenswood). Morgan has done exceptionally well in the eyes of the press, and us here at K&L, with his label Bedrock. His wines are thoughtfully crafted small production bottlings from old vines located in “heritage” vineyards throughout California. Hard to come by, these Bedrock wines already have a loyal and rabid following. But where I think Morgan really shines is in his entry level bottling: the Sherman & Hooker’s Shebang! This particular cuveé is 46% Zinfandel, 40% Grenache, 5% Alicante, 5% Petite Sirah, 4% Sangiovese and 100% delicious! A bit darker-seated than last cuveé, this has a powerful nose of black pepper, ripe black cherries and a bit of wet asphalt with a very easygoing and friendly nature. Fruity but not jammy, structured but instantly drinkable this is a steal of a wine. Briary wild berry, a return of the black pepper found on the nose, raspberry and some old leather and tobacco notes combine on the palate to really over-deliver on the $12 price tag. Year after year I keep saying it, and I’ll say it again here, there still isn’t a better value for an inexpensive red wine in the store when the Shebang is in the house.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>