Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>
2012 Chehalem "Ridgecrest Vineyards" Ribbon Ridge Gamay Noir
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  Slightly esoteric, fully delicious. Very pretty nose,and great acidity frame this dynamic wine giving endless possibilities for food pairings. Something as pedestrian as juicy hamburgers with charred green chilies and Monterrey Jack mixed into the patty, to cote de boeuf with potatoes gratin and crispy shallots. Or maybe even a grilled cheese with caramelized onions and comte.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Chehalem "Sext-Ridgecrest Vineyard" Ribbon Ridge Riesling
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  An exquisite wine. Serve this with a salad of mixed greens, grilled nectarines, and wild boar sausage!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Fleury "Carte Rouge" Blanc de Noirs Brut Champagne
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  Very rich, very concentrated in style. Lovely champagne from a biodynamic grower. Just flat-out excellent and an amazing value.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BH 90 BC 0

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  From a single vineyard, with old selectoin massale vines (not commercial clones), planted a half-century ago. 1/2 has been through ML, half has not. It comes from a vineyard high on the hill, almost on the border with Epernay, so it is a cooler, more mineral rich enviforment. The vineayrd is a 1er Cru one, called Les Brousses. This has a modest 8g/liter of dosage, but such great drive and minerality it shows as a most amazing champagne. This is a Don't Miss! for me.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel Premier Cru Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  This Champagne is from a site that is so cold, it typically has searingly high acidity (always in balance with the fruit in my opinion) which makes it one I love but that I recommend judiciously, only to those who love acidity as much as I do. I say "typically," though, because our most recent bottling is based on a warmer vintage, and combined with the colder vineyard site, this becomes a richer, yet still bright and vibrant Blanc de Blancs to recommend to many more people. This is always one of my favorite expressions of Chardonnay on our shelves.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  UPDATE... This recent batch, based on the 2006 vintage, with an incredible 6 years of time on the lees (good luck finding another Champagne for this price with as much lees ageing and overall balance), is damn good. As always the nose is bright, pure and friendly, inviting. On the palate there fruit is bigger and spicier than I recall, but still balanced by fresh acidity due to Bruno Michel's cooler vineyard sites. I have a review from a previous disgorgement below for some context: This is arguably, pound for pound, dollar for dollar, the most versatile and satisfying Champagne in the store. So bright tasting, with good minerality and delicious, juicy fruit. A colleague put it well when she called this champagne "friendly." I completely agree. It is indeed friendly, without sacrificing originality or wine geek appeal. One to always have on hand around the house (especially if you're inviting me over!)
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Miguel Merino "Vitola" Reserva Rioja
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  This might be the best red under $20 in the store. If you have not tried any of the wines from super producer Miguel Merino, now is the time. This wine has such an open-knit, generous personality, some of the highest quality Tempranillo fruit I have ever tasted, and also texture, maturity and poise. It has it all... Just add lamb blocks!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I really like this wine, the nose is bursting with spiced apple brioche that just explodes out of your glass (use a BIG glass like we do, no flutes!)and continues on across the palate. The Blanche has such a unique expression of high acid and richness coupled with lots of age you can please edgy purists and those looking for more richness. Excellent finish, supple mousse, such a deal for the price!
Drink from 2014 to 2016
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Brio de Cantenac Brown, Margaux
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
  While being a great cellar candidate, this is really quite approachable now. I bought a beautiful coil of lamb sausage flavored with herbes de provence from The Fatted Calf this weekend and have been trying to find a wine to pair it with. While leaning towards a Cab Franc, this blend of Cab, Merlot, and Cab Franc could be just the wine to stand up to the grilled meaty depth of lamb and the blend of intense Provencal spices. The Margaux characteristics shine through this wine, and while the oak plays a noticeable role, it is more of a background character tying the story together. Beautiful bright acidity, and playful ripe fruit. An incredible buy at about half the price of the first label.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 91 BC 0

Bruno Michel "Blanche" Brut Champagne
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Stunning wine. Racy, pure, mineral infused Champagne with endless drive and verve. This wine always has such focus and vibrancy. Not a heavy toasty wine, rather one that has elegance, beautiful length and persistence on the palate. A fantastic aperitif wine with mouthwatering acidity and freshness. You need to try this Champagne for your next dinner party, it is very hard to beat at this price.
Top Value!
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Michel Loriot "Les Sources du Flagot" Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/6/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Really serious wine for Champagne enthusiasts. I did not realize what a stunning bottle of wine this was until a recent tasting with Gary Westby. 100% Chard with no malo so the intensity and drive of the fruit and minerality is preserved perfectly. Although this wine is labelled as an Extra Brut the extended 8 years on the lees has given it fantastic richness, texture and density. This is not a super lean wine as some Extra Brut bottlings can be, it has layers, powerful presence and so much depth and complexity. For me this wine is in the sweet spot where you still have vibrant fruit and soil purity shinning through, but also plenty of intriguing autolytic yeasty qualities. A bottle that is really worth your consideration for a mere $50!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Poggiarellino Rosso di Montalcino is 100% Sangiovese and is full of complex, wild cherry fruit, with notes of tobacco leaf and has layers of what the Italians call sotto bosco (the flavor of the forest floor). On the palate the aromas are interwoven and backed up with a core of mineral, stone, earth and truffle flowing into ripe tannins where the acidity lifts and lengthens the finish. This is not a simple wine, rather one that is simply perfect with rustic Italian fare! Try it with roasted rabbit or rosemary-infused pork loin or Montalcino’s favorite pinci (thick, hand rolled noodles) pasta. Drinkable now over the next 3-5 years.
Drink from 2014 to 2019
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Michel Loriot "Palmyre" Brut Nature Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This lovely Extra Brut is not your typical animal. It is dosaged at the highest point to be labeled Extra Brut, 6 grams per liter. So, this is a richer style of Extra Brut with bright pear and lemon flavors and a very clean, moderately acidic vintage. This is a great bridge between Brut and those teeth-chattering, no-dosage Brut Nature Champagnes.
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2004 Michel Loriot "Les Sources du Flagot" Extra Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Like the "Palmyre" the Sources du Flagot is dosaged at 6 grams per liter. The result is a rich nose with hints of butterscotch and baked apples. It is a fairly rich wine despite the dosage, but it has a long, dry finish. If you like Brut Champagne, but are looking to branch out and try lower dosage wines, this is definitely your place to start!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Oddero Barolo
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
  From the great 2010 vintage this wine brings aromas of dried cherry and roses, and on the palate you will find raspberries, tar, tobacco, truffle, and a little Langhe dust, with a good tannin structure.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart JS 95 BC 0

2002 Bruno Michel "Cuvee Millésime" Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I just tried this wine (again) today (8/5) at a staff tasting and it is magnificent! We have had releases of this over the past several years and this latest one has an ultra-low dosage of under 4 grams per liter. It is a blend of 70% Chardonnay and 30% Pinot Meunier. The Chardonnay comes from vines that are 45 years old and the Pinot Meunier is from vines that are over 70 years old! Despite the low dosage and amazing acidity, this wine is amazingly rich, balanced and elegant. We likened it here to lemon cheesecake! A wonderful effort from a great winemaker!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2008 Ariston Aspasie Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another great vintage wine from Paul Vincent Ariston! Wonderfully bright, with stone fruits, lychee and green apple fruit. Lovely, very long and clean finish laden with salinity. A blend of 1/3 each of Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay. The best vintage since 1996! Collectors, take note!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $34.99
BC 0

2011 La Tour de By, Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/5/2014 | Send Email
  Very dark garnet color. Nose of cassis, plum, vanilla, light coffee and chocolate. On the palate all come together framed by medium+ tannins and medium+ acidity, and a delicious savory note. It is easy drinking with a charming rusticity that I found very attractive and extremely food-friendly. 16 months oak aging, 30% new. They also have been prioritizing eco-friendly methods since the late 80s. How can one go wrong?

2009 Villegeorge, Haut-Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  Château Villegeorge, as La Tour Bessan in Margaux, and Duplessis in Moulis-en-Médoc, is owned and run by Marie-Laure Lurton (of the Lurton family) since 1992. Certified since 2003 by "Terra Vitis" as eco-friendly, practicing sustainable viticulture. This solid wine has a garnet color, and aromatics of cassis, blackberry, tobacco, delicate bell pepper that evolves to crushed stones after a while in the glass. Coffee, toasty vanilla oak, dark chocolate on the palate, with the coffee notes getting more apparent as it opens up. Medium-plus tannins and medium acidity. Although it is fleshy and definitely approachable, it has a firm grip. I enjoyed it immensely. The assemblage is 58% Cabernet Sauvignon with 42% Merlot. They are also a member of the Alliance des Cru Bourgeois du Médoc.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $21.99
BC 0

2010 Larrivaux, Haut-Medoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  This property is situated to the west of Saint-Joseph, and contrary to the common assumption, instead of Cabernet Sauvignon, is the Merlot that dominates the blend. Garnet/Ruby color. Cassis, plum, a touch of cedar, along with wet rocks and an intriguing meatiness greets you on the nose. On the palate: Coffee, cassis again, and a delicious note of oak toast. Medium tannins and medium+ acidity, makes it a very supple wine, that is a pleasure to drink now or to be put away for a little while. The assemblage according to their website is: 60% Merlot, 26% Cabernet Sauvignon, 8% Cabernet Franc and 6% Petit Verdot. Great value.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1994 Gruaud-Larose, St-Julien
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  Cinnamon and I enjoyed this claret last night with a ribeye steak and potatoes. Cinnamon decided to be avant-garde on this occasion, and instead of peas or green beans served pan seared padron peppers. We put a touch of truffle salt on the steaks after cooking them, and the meal turned out very nicely. How did the Gruaud work? It was predictably great with the food. This 1994 has the poise and power of a great vintage at 20 years old, and seems to just be hitting its stride. It has a huge amount of pure, dark cassis fruit, integrated but very present tannins, and lots of electricity on the long, mineral laden finish. It took discipline for me not to hog the bottle, but it was too good not to share fairly with Cinnamon!
Drink from 2014 to 2034
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe Pre-Arrival
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  One of my perennial favorite producers. The 2013 vintage has a distinctive Calon Segur-esque feel. The personality of Calon Segur can get obscured in some vintages, but in a challenging vintage like 2013 it really shines through. Berry fruit and notes of intense boysenberry lead, with hints of menthol and spice.

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe Pre-Arrival
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  A blend of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 17% Cabernet Franc, 6% Merlot and 2% Petit Verdot, the 2013 Calon Segur shows aromas and flavors of coffee, black tea, red cherries and dried tobacco leaf. This is a rustic style wine in every vintage, but I do find the 2013 to have plenty of fruit to carry through to the finish. Tannins are firm and sturdy. 89-91 points.

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Trey Beffa | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  A blend of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 17% Cabernet Franc, 6% Merlot and 2% Petit Verdot, the 2013 Calon Segur shows aromas and flavors of coffee, black tea, red cherries and dried tobacco leaf. This is a rustic style wine in every vintage, but I do find the 2013 to have plenty of fruit to carry through to the finish. Tannins are firm and sturdy. 89-91 points.

2013 Calon Ségur, St-Estèphe (1.5L) Pre-Arrival
 By: Alex Pross | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  One of my perennial favorite producers. The 2013 vintage has a distinctive Calon Segur-esque feel. The personality of Calon Segur can get obscured in some vintages, but in a challenging vintage like 2013 it really shines through. Berry fruit and notes of intense boysenberry lead, with hints of menthol and spice.

2009 Domaine de Chevalier Rouge, Pessac-Léognan
 By: Ralph Sands | Review Date: 8/4/2014 | Send Email
  Lots of perfume, elegant ripe fruit, very attractive.

2013 Les Roches Sauvignon Touraine
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 8/1/2014 | Send Email
  We have carried this wine for a couple years now and I have always enjoyed it. The 2013 just came in last week and...wow! The BEST yet! Three stars from Guido. Lots of limestone and flint on the palate, has wonderful length and is food friendly. This would be a great luncheon wine -- maybe baked goat cheese with fines herbs and baguette?
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Quinta da Aveleda Loureiro Alvarinho Vinho Regional Minho (formerly Vinho Verde)
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/1/2014 | Send Email
  As always one of the best value summer whites in the store. Just so fresh, zesty and refreshing. Lime zest, white flower, juicy citrus all enlivened by the little spritz. Very easy to drink with its moderate alcohol. This is a must-have for the summer heat. Exceptional value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart W&S 91 BC 0

Willett Distillery 2 Year Old Kentucky Rye Whiskey 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/1/2014 | Send Email
  This is the most exciting young rye I've tasted in years, mainly because it's the first new KENTUCKY rye that actually tastes like rye bread, with that sweet hint of corn. I've given out samples of this to friends from St. George distillery, and other folks that I know who make whiskey for a living; they all have nothing but praise for the Kulsveen's latest project. You have to understand: most of the rye on the market is all from MGP distillery in Indiana, even if it says Bulleit, Dickel, Templeton, or Redemption. It's been purchased in bulk and simply relabeled. The Willett is actual home-made Kentucky rye, a la Rittenhouse and Sazerac, that tastes like real rye whiskey should. Add in the cask strength proof and the fiery spices and you've got one helluva product. I CANNOT WAIT for this to turn four or five years old! Bravo!
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Stolzle Universal Bordeaux Glass (ship as 6pk only)
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Here's a fantastic value solution to your wine glass needs. It's a great Cabernet/Merlot shape and we got a fantastic closeout price.
Top Value!
Price: $4.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Tamarack Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This may be the least expensive Cab in our stock that will age beautifully for a decade or more, It's solid, well-made, masculine and has a nice acidity to keep it fresh on the palate. Decant and drink now or age for 5-15 years. Just do not miss it entirely and regret it later.
Top Value!

2012 Mount Eden Santa Cruz Mountains Rosé of Cabernet Franc
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  The winery made a tiny quantity of this wine (2 barrels), But we loved it so much we talked them out of 20% of the production for us to sell. Grab yours now, or the staff will buy all that is available of this amazingly fresh and bright rose.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Lagier Meredith Mount Veeder Syrah
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Fantastic New World Syrah, with a delicious entry, big fruit, but enough acid and structure to make the package balance beautifully. This is not only delicious, it is also approachable now, which is a bonus.

2010 Chehalem "Stoller Vineyard" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  For those of you who wrote off the 2010 vintage because it was cool, all I have to say is HAH! For those of you who think Oregon Pinot Noirs cannot age, another HAH! Thanks to too many critics who think that same way, those of us in the know get a smoking good deal. This shows lovely crunchy cranberry fruit on the nose, followed by focused and interesting flavors. If you are looking for a big, jammy pseudo-Syrah, avoid this wine. If you are looking for delicious, bright Pinot Noir with a bit of age, and a lot of character on the finish, GRAB some of this before the staff gets it all. Thanks to our special purchase, we are selling this to you at less than we once paid at wholesale. 'Nuff said.
Top Value!

2013 Cantina Terlan "Terlaner Classico" Terlano
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This blend of three different grape varieties, grown in the classic district of Terlano (South-Tyrol), is as versatile a wine as you'll find from anywhere, and a seriously good value besides. A blend used quite successfully for over 100 years, this cuvee of Pinot Bianco, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc, fermented at controlled temperature in stainless steel vats offers fruity aromatics with light yeasty notes and a taste that is always harmonious though quite strong on the palate and very persistent.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2012 Remo Farina Valpolicella Ripasso
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Valpolicella has undergone an amazing transformation from the 60s Bolla version with a red-checked tablecloth to the suave and ultra-hip wine region. This ripasso is a midway point between simple and fresh and the power and size of the Amarone taking the best from both. A wine to drink straight from the bottle, with a straw or with roasted rabbit, or complex pasta dishes. Rockin' Ripasso!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Valentin Bianchi "Elsa Bianchi" Malbec Mendoza
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  For under $10 this is a solid everyday red that is perfect with just about everything. It's got a purple hue, and supple, blueberry and violet undertones that give lift to its inky, soft texture. Polished and clean with a velvety soft finish, this is a wine that can be drunk whatever the season. If its hot out, put a slight chill on it; pair it with everything from salmon to roast chicken or Argentine steak!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Spellbound California Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  I'm obsessed with Robert Mondavi Jr.'s latest addition to the Spellbound family! If you love California Cab, but don't want to spend Napa Valley prices, you've met your match! This fruit is sourced from some of the best vineyards in California but because of the family reputation, this Cab doesn't cost an arm and leg for high-quality juice. Great everyday red full of richness and depth, and still soft enough on the palate to drink on its own or with food. Supple tannins and acid make it a super juicy, food-friendly crowd pleaser! BBQ anyone?
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Domaine Begude Sauvignon Blanc Vin de Pays d'Oc
 By: Christie Cartwright | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Sancerre at half the price!!! Soft, subtle mineral notes are wrapped up in aromatics of melon and citrus. Clean, bright and refreshing, this is a perfect little Sauvignon Blanc. Tropical fruit, citrus and spice aromas and flavors, with vibrant acidity and minerality. Perfect for goat milk cheeses or seafood. This is the white wine that I always keep stocked in my fridge. Bright, fresh citrus peels (grapefruit & lime) lead into a bracing minerality that ends with a wonderfully dry, crushed wet rock finish. I love this wine (and it's an absolute steal).
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 A.A. Badenhorst "Secateurs" Chenin Blanc Swartland
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  I do love Chenin Blanc. They are so food-friendly and generally affordable that it ends up being my go-to for several food and wine pairings. This is no exception. Bright acidity with just a hint of residual sugar that comes and goes way before the acid gives up. For summer this would be great with any dishes that incorporate grilled stone fruit, or perhaps a cantaloupe gazpacho!
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Shoofly Wines Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  What a steal! Tasting this wine blind I assumed it was in the $20 range, so I was floored when I saw it was only $10! Crushed Rainier cherries with cranberries, orange zest, and a bit of pepper. A great wine to have on hand.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

2011 Castelfeder "Glener" Pinot Nero Trentino-Alto Adige
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Blauburgunder (Pinot Noir) is a lovely wine. Sweet perfumed cherries, flowers and spices all come together in this harmonious wine. Castelfeder’s Blauburgunder captures an attractive middle ground between the lighter and richer styles of Pinot being made in Alto Adige. If you enjoy European-influenced Pinot with acidity, vibrancy and balance, this will blow you away! Melt some strong cheese, dip some bread and veggies in there, and enjoy with a glass (or a bottle) of Tyrolean red!
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Viña Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Clean, modern in style and focused like a laser beam. For this price, this is close to a no-brainer as I have seen in a while.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Pinot Bianco
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This is from a hillside in the town of Terlano in the Alto-Adige, where the soil is sandy, gravely and calcareous. A great place to plant grapes? This is what makes the wines of this region so unique. This Pinot Bianco is full-bodied, delicately fragrant and mildly floral, with ripe honeydew melon and Bartlett pear and lots of minerality, balanced by acidity. This can keep very easily over the next five years, but you will want to drink lots of it these last days of summer.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JS 90 BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Lagrein Rosé Alto Adige
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  Spicy and bursting with bright fruit and even a touch of mineral, this is not your everyday pink wine. Hearty enough for food, even red meat, this Lagrein rosé is made by one of the Alto Adige's finest wine producers. It will elicit oohs and ahhs from all of your summertime guests.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Cantina Terlan "Gries" Lagrein
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 7/31/2014 | Send Email
  This Lagrein is made in the Alto Adige. This wine has an elegant perfume, subtle even, with fruit, vanilla and violet notes. On the palate it is a touch austere and quite full bodied, just the thing to match the rustic, rich foods of the mountainous region like lamb with rosemary and hard cheeses.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2002 Bowmore 11 Year Old K&L Exclusive Signatory Single Refill Sherry Hogshead Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 7/30/2014 | Send Email
  In the barrage of barrel samples that we tasted over the trip, 50-plus on the day we found this little gem alone, I had somehow forgotten how much I liked this. After tasting it in a lineup of far more heralded and expensive single malts, this reminded me why I love Bowmore so much. The perfect balance of richness and complexity, not too much sherry as to cover up the sweet grain and spice notes, but enough nutty richness to lend a seductive and soft mouth feel. The smoke is dark and brooding like Bowmore should be, perfectly integrated and stunning.
Price: $79.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 7/30/2014 | Send Email
  Melville was established by Ron Melville and his two sons in 1996, developing 82 acres just outside of Lompoc, California. Planted to mostly Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, this vineyard has become a prized grower/producer in the Santa Rita Hills appellation. With winemaker Greg Brewer at the helm, the wines have become some of the most sought after in the region. The 2012 Estate Pinot Noir is an explosion of bright red fruit, Asian spice and cinnamon. Touches of cedar, mint and orange peel add to this silky, opulent Pinot Noir.

2012 Melville "Estate" Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 7/30/2014 | Send Email
  Winemaker Greg Brewer consistently coaxes lovely aromatics from his wines; it's one of the reasons I like them so much. Right out of the gate scents of rose petals, lavender, and sweet earth beckon. On the palate this wine is beautifully plush with notes of black cherry, cinnamon, and just a touch of smoke. If you've never tried Melville Pinot Noir, you should. If you're already a fan, don't miss this one!

2013 Hermanuspietersfontein (HPF) "Nr.3 Bergblokke" Sauvignon Blanc Sondagskloof
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 7/29/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  If you can pronounced the name of this wonderful SB, we might sell you a bottle or two or twelve. Unlike those coming from New Zealand with gobs of grapefruit and lemon tones, this South African Gem offers a lovely melon-like to clove-like presentation in the nose and on its dry, clean, crisp, well-structured, yet mouthwatering presentation and finish. The Bean has told me that we need cases of this Gem and that if you bypass this beauty, you might as well stop drinking wine. A non-linear, completely satisfying SB that will rival many of the wonderful SB wines coming from Sancerre and Graves, and at a super low price. 13.5% abv.
Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Page:   prev  1  2 3   next  >>