Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
1975 Moulin Touchais Coteaux du Layon
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  What an incredible treat this beautiful wine was. Deep golden colored. Pungent nose of celery salt, sweet dried quince, persimons, and honey. Vibrant and clean on the palate with a laser beam of acid to cut through the sweetness. Cannot believe this wine is 40 years old. Feels like it might last another 40 ; ) if you can keep your hands off it.
Price: $74.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Dreissigacker Riesling Trocken
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Having cut his chops working under the famous Peter Keller -one of the Rheinhessen's most celebrated dry wine producers- you'd figure Jochen Dreissigacker had picked up a few tricks. Should we call it a Keller Killer? I might not going that far, but this is my new favorite Trocken riesling under $20 (at least until we get the new Weingut Keller stuff back). Everything is perfectly in place. Very pale yellow color. Absolutely stunning minerality. A magnicifent value by any measure.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Dr. Wehrheim Muschelkalk Weisser Burgunder (Pinot Blanc)
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  I absolutely love a white wine with tons a floral qualitities without seeming perfumed. Few wines achieve this without going over the edge to artificial or overly pungent extracted floral elements. This wine is like taking a wish a of the most freshly picked white wild flowers, honeysuckles, and blooming chaparral (NO GARDINIAS!). As with all Pinot Blanc we worry about acidity, but this one has all it needs and more. Great little bottle that should continue to develope nicely over the next few years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ökonomierat Rebholz Pinot Blanc
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Not surprised that I loved Rebholz' new Pinot Blanc. They're one of the most exciting producers of dry white wine in Germany. Nearly crystal clear in color. Incredible purity and fabulous structure. Clean Pinot Blanc with great acidity, incredible intensity and a fabulous price point. You gotta get into it. Serve it with some rilette or grilled fish.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Skouras "Salto" Moscofilero Péloponnèse
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  This wine totally surprised me! Straw colored. The nose is ALL green veggies (not bell pepper, more like fresh artichoke). Massively complex, yet not austere. Could this be the perfect pair for asparagus? Loving that wild greek yeast!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sadie Family Old Vine Series "Soldaat" Grenache Noir Piekenierskloof
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Well when people say this is the DRC of such and such I usually glaze over, but when I heard what these guys were doing down in Swartland, they got my attention. This is one of the most impressive offerings in out store today. Every single wine from Sadie Family makes me shiver. Their is so much depth, yet so much hidden still. Buy this. Hold it. Drink it to remind you why you fell in love with wine. Weep silent happy tears to yourself.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Orgo Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Medium Gold Color. You can see the weight and power in the glass. Incredible nose of confit citrus, funky dried fruit, and almond butter. Massively tannic (for a white), pithy and focused. Needs something greasy and grilled, but one of the best I've had in this traditional Georgian style.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Château Musar Blanc Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  FREAKING LOVE THIS STUFF. Who can argue with native Lebanese varietals? Besides of course stodgy wine critics! Ok I'll admit this isn't for everyone, but if it doesn't fit your palate you might want to consider changing your tastes ; ) Clearly I'm smitten and you will be too if you like any of the Lopez de Heredia white. A triumph in my opinion!
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Musar "Jeune" White Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  Very balanced wine. Light straw colored. Showing only a hint of the viognier aromatics on the nose, but with the mineral and fruit taking front seat. On the palate, more viognier flowers and stone fruit, but with great acidity to keep it lively. The cleanest white I've had yet from the magnicifent property in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Château Musar "Hochar Père et Fils" Red Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  I've always been a fan of the controversial wines from this historic producer and we've just opened the new releases in honor of the untimely passing of the family patriache, Serge Hochar. This, his namesake wine, is designed to be slightly more drinkable in it's youth than it's older more expensive siblings, but it nonetheless delivers all the wonderful estoteric qualities that we love (some hate) about Musar. This 2009 is developing perfectly and could last for years in the cellar, but is definitely delicious today. Tannins have softened and the acidity is in balance. No trace of VA and only a slightly bretty under note. SPLENDID stuff for geeks, but not so challenging that you'll lose friends over it.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart W&S 92 BC 0

2011 Musar "Jeune" Rouge Bekaa Valley
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/23/2015 | Send Email
  This is by far the cleanest most open "Jeune" we've tasted. Fun but familiar, it still has some nice gravelly earth underlying the tart red fruit and wonderful acidity. Not altogether what you'd expect from this fabulous estate, but still with tons of character.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Musar "Jeune" White Bekaa Valley
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  Such an incredible blend from an incredible producer. Aromatics that continually open up with yellow flowers, yellow apples, and nectar. The palate is complex, with notes of pineapple, peach, bitter almonds, nectarines and a pithy, tannic finish that is fantastic.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Westerly Santa Ynez Valley Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  Sometimes in the profession of Wine Buying you really have to work hard, whether it is tasting and assessing a hundred plus wines in a day, dealing with testy winemakers/winery owners, long boring conversations with marketing people about pricing or a whole myriad of other things, you can really get beat up. Then there are times when everything is simple and just kind of clicks into place. The latter is what happened with this Westerly Sauvignon Blanc. It really just sort of fell into my lap, or my e-mail box, specifically. The winery reached out to see if we were interested in the wine and being that we were they sent us bottles to check out. We tasted the wine and immediately took the rest that they had. This Sauvignon Blanc impressed us with its fresh, persistent orange flesh-like acidity and pretty notes of alfalfa, tangerine and lemon curd on the palate. When we figured out we could sell it to you for a paltry $7.99 we jumped at the opportunity. What we have in stock currently is all we can get; I don’t expect this to be around for more that 24-48 hours. Act fast.
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Seven Hills Columbia Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  I don’t know how they do it, I really don’t. Somehow Seven Hills puts out a $20 dollar Cabernet every year that just crushes the competition. Deep and inky, this wine has plenty of complexity to offer on the packed nose. Aromas of pencil lead, sweet licorice, pipe tobacco and black olive swirl freely in the glass. Ripe but structured, this is perfectly positioned to be an everyday drinker for fans of big Cabernet. It has enough fruit to please, but enough structure to be friendly at the table. Black tea, currant, ink, wet stone, subtle olive and dried sage flavors combine here for one shockingly complex wine, especially considering the price tag. Be it the super high quality fruit, the fantastic 2012 vintage in Washington or the open, friendly style of the winery but this wine maybe one of the best Columbia Valley bottling I’ve seen from them in the last 4-5 vintages. It’s surely not a wine to be missed.

2012 Orgo Rkatsiteli Republic of Georgia
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  The nose on this this is gorgeous!!! Full of apricot, marmalade, nectar, orange blossom, nuts and apple cider, so intriguing. The palate follows through with apple skins, chestnuts, crushed wet stones, apricot and plenty, plenty more. I love the orange wines coming out of Georgia, and this one is one of my favorites. Such a small producers, doing things of course, the old fashioned way fermenting the wine in qvevris and bottling the wine without filtration. Drink more Georgian wine!!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Château Musar Blanc Bekaa Valley
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
  Drinking this wine over the course of a day would be ideal so you can experience the constant change that occurs with air. Although a 2006, the wine is still quite young and could sit happily in a loving cellar for years to come. Certainly one of the most interesting wines I’ve ever had, in true Musar fashion. Hints of beeswax, lanolin, and fresh mussels on the nose while the palate includes apple skins, salinity, oysters, almonds and white flowers. Plus, the grapes used in this wine come from a vineyard that was never hit with phylloxera, thus have their original rootstocks, such a rarity.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Laurent-Perrier "Grand Siècle" Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/22/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This review is for the latest release, a blend of 20% 1999 vintage, 20% 2000 vintage and 60% 2002 vintage. A blend of 50% chardonnay and 50% pinot noir with a clean nose of green apples, lime and minerals. Lush and full on the palate with toasted hazelnut and almond notes. It has a very nice finish that linger and lingers! The best one that I have tasted since the 1996 blend.

Knob Creek 9 Year Old K&L Exclusive Single Barrel 120 Proof Bourbon 750ml (due to bottle size shipping cost is higher)
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  An absolutely delicious bourbon, at 120 proof, for cocktail mixing. If you like round, sweet, easy-drinkin' whiskey this is NOT the one. If you like your bourbon drier and more sophisticated, with a bit of a woody note, this one will knock your socks off. And I cannot imagine how you could make a smoother spirit at this proof level! Another home-run for David, our spirits buyer.
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Banshee Sonoma County Pinot Noir
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  As one felled by images, I’ve often mused about the strange creature on this wine’s label. It is actually a cockatrice, that eerie hybrid bit of mischief, a demonic cross between a serpent and a rooster, armed with a "death-darting eye that could slay men with the poison of their sight." And a Banshee being the spirit of a wailing woman said to lie outside the walls of peasants’ houses, waiting for mortal men to die…..ahem. Well, on to the magical stuff in the bottle! Yet another lovely incarnation, this cool-climate beauty captured all the purity and essence of Sonoma coastal vineyards, with a core of enticing red fruit enlivened by tea, plum and boysenberry notes, all ballasted by clean acidity and gentle tannins. Enough supernatural fruit in here to silence a Banshee and keep her pet cockatrice at bay…..enjoy!
Top Value!
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  When I first smelled this wine I couldn’t believe it, it was like someone had taken out the spice drawer, turned it on its end and poured everything into my glass of wine. It was so aromatic it was hard to concentrate. Incredible layers of wild cherry, marzipan, dried flowers, a kitchen sink of Middle Eastern spice, star jasmine…it’s like the whole alphabet was there. Once on the palate, the wine flows luxuriously across it, displaying layers of wild cherry with hints of leather that gradually focus the wine as it stretches out into a long finish. Fine tannins gradually build showing the power and structure that lie just under the surface of this delectable wine. Capable of aging 15-20 years but delicious now.
Drink from 2017 to 2030
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart JS 97 BC 0

2013 Cantina Terlan Pinot Nero
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  This is truly an amazing Pinot. As you open this little treasure, pleasant aromas of wild strawberry, fresh leather and cedar fill the air around you. Medium to full-bodied, richly textured berries and game mingle with a long, spicy, soft oak finish with fine tannins and a twist of vanilla. There is also some of that Alto Adige chalk and porphyry that give this lots of minerals and acidity for balance. This is a wine that will definitely stand up to something very rich on the plate, like duck, or I will probably open mine and have with a leg of lamb.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  Here is one our most popular wineries from Colli Orientali del Friuli, just a few miles from the Slovenian border. I just tasted all of the new Ermacora wines and the first two things I have written down are OMG & Wow! Perfectly balanced, this wine has incredible depth and concentration with focus. There are notes of ripe apples and pears, with minerals on the front palate, and it's very rich and creamy on the mid-palate; great length on the finish. Serve with grilled chicken diablo or a seafood risotto.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ermacora Pinot Grigio Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  This is our seventieth of bringing Ermacora to you, and way back in 1998 our price on the P.G. was $11.99! We love beating that euro down! And one of K&L’s best sellers since we started bringing them in. The perfect balance of acidity and tremendous aromatics, loaded with pear, apple, citrus and tropical fruit in an elegant, concentrated and superbly balanced wine. This is a great wine for you to start the evening off with some Pecorino, and it will work well with a first course of bruschetta or insalata mista.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Sesta di Sopra Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This vintage’s savory quality is readily apparent in this wine; the nose is full of the sea, shells, stone, wild brush with hints of wild cherry. The palate is impressively powerful, brooding, and full of saturated flavors that are wound tightly around its core. The flavors start with wild cherry and fresh plum but slide toward that savory, complexity showing more umami character like beef bouillon, marrow and miso. In the finish the combination of fruit and savory bond together forming flavors that link the powerful tannic structure gives definition, focus and direction to the wine. This Brunello has a pedigree that cries out for aging, its powerful structure, concentrated core and amazing flavor breadth is going to be stunning when it comes of age. Capable of aging 10-30 years.
Drink from 2020 to 2040
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart JS 94 BC 0

2010 Il Valentiano Brunello di Montalcino "Campo di Marzo" 1.5L Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A bit shy at first in the nose but slowly this wine begins to release its core; it’s a gentle flow, exuding a composed center, no rush or hurry here. The nose shows hints of its western slope origins with hints of ripeness but this is layered between spice and earth as it delicately flows from the glass. On the palate the wine the has a really savory quality, salty, iron, leather then, slowly, the fruit escapes from its tightly wound core where hints of wild cherry, plum and cocoa powder mix with fine grain tannin to give a really focused palate presence. The long, persistent finish with layer after layer gradually makes its presence felt with superb balance, and a growing flavor crescendo. Drink in 2-3 years but capable of aging 10-20 years.
Drink from 2017 to 2030
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2010 Il Valentiano "Campo di Marzo" Brunello di Montalcino Pre-Arrival
 By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A bit shy at first in the nose but slowly this wine begins to release its core; it’s a gentle flow, exuding a composed center, no rush or hurry here. The nose shows hints of its western slope origins with hints of ripeness but this is layered between spice and earth as it delicately flows from the glass. On the palate the wine the has a really savory quality, salty, iron, leather then, slowly, the fruit escapes from its tightly wound core where hints of wild cherry, plum and cocoa powder mix with fine grain tannin to give a really focused palate presence. The long, persistent finish with layer after layer gradually makes its presence felt with superb balance, and a growing flavor crescendo. Drink in 2-3 years but capable of aging 10-20 years.
Drink from 2017 to 2030
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2000 Bel-Air, Pomerol
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  The tiny appellation of Pomerol produced few bargains in the phenomenal 2000 vintage but here is one. This has an evolved nose of red fruit, earth and cedar. The body is plump, smooth, lushly sweet and shows beautiful balance and proportion from beginning to silky, seamless end.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Corbin Michotte, St-Emilion
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  Lots of ripe, red fruits here with a funky dig into the terroir of the St-Emilion/Pomerol border. There are very fine tannins holding the array of cherries and berries together where hints of chalk add persistence to the finish. This is deep, lush and still fresh.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2001 Moulin Haut Laroque, Fronsac
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  This is darkly fruited and quite earthy but with a lush core of sweet, clean and fresh fruit. The tannins are well hidden and there is nice length to the lively finish. This is easy and forward even without decanting.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Raymond Lafon, Sauternes (375ml)
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  Surprisingly viscous, fat and waxy but with great balancing acidity to boot, this seems to hit the sweet spot between flamboyant richness and cool, electric freshness. The pineapple, coconut, honey, citrus and marmalade flavors would be an ideal match for veined cheeses, fruit tarts, pound cake, a plate of butter cookies or my favorite, as an aperitif. The powerful finish here actually leaves an impression of dryness on the palate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart RP 93 BC 0

2012 Charles Baur Eichberg Riesling Grand Cru
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  This is a beautiful Alsatian Riesling, bursting with elegance and minerality. The nose provides aromas of pretty little white flowers, peach, nectar, apricot, and wet slate. The palate is full of beeswax and lanolin with fruits like pear and apple and a backbone of minerality like crush wet stone and slate. An absolutely gorgeous wine and a steal at $24.99.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

1998 Haut-Bergey, Pessac-Léognan
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  This earthy wine is surprisingly rich and hearty for a 1998 Left Bank Bordeaux. Tobacco, mineral and cherry and plum fruit are far more obvious than the slightly firm edge to the stony finish. Decant this tonight with hearty fare.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Terre da Vino "La Luna e I Falò" Barbera d'Asti Superiore
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  This is classic Barbera with dark ripe black cherries and plum, full-bodied with some minerals and dust on the very long and well integrated finish. I would let this open for an hour or so and serve with a grilled Portobello mushroom or burgers and some great friends.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Poggio al Tufo "Rompicollo" Toscana
 By: Mike Parres | Review Date: 1/21/2015 | Send Email
  It is just the kind of wine you want when you sit down with a little bread and cheese or when you open something to drink while cooking dinner. Rich and complex, Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon. Super Tuscan & Super Price !

2009 Château Musar "Hochar Père et Fils" Red Bekaa Valley
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/20/2015 | Send Email
  This is a total shocker. It's not like I didn't know that Musar has a reputation for greatness, it's that I didn't think their wines would be this good for the money. The Hochar vineyard gives this great old school Bordeaux flavor, but with a concentrated core of sweet red fruit (almost like a combo of Rioja with Bordeaux). This is a fantastic wine that no one should be afraid to spend money on. It's not esoteric or weird, just classic old school wine with great flavor.
Price: $27.99 Add To Cart W&S 92 BC 0


2006 Château Musar Blanc Bekaa Valley
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/20/2015 | Send Email
  If you're going to splurge on a white wine, you want one with complexity and stunning nuance. This is that wine. Slightly oxidative on the nose, the aromas are nutty and slightly earthy. The palate has a bit of subtle oak flavor before moving into a saline note and a bit more mineral of a direction. Fascinating and delicious.
Price: $46.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Musar "Jeune" Rouge Bekaa Valley
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/20/2015 | Send Email
  This unoaked Musar is juicy, balanced, and showcases a lovely mouthful of pure red fruit. A charming wine that really delivers for the money.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/19/2015 | Send Email
  HOT DEAL! WOW, that's a lot of wine for less than $20! Tronquoy is located just across the road from 2nd growth icon Montrose, so you're getting top-notch terroir in this bottle. Perfectly balanced fruit with firm tannins and a lovely finish. How is this under $20?
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Barde-Haut, St-Emilion
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  I was worried that the freshness might have left St. Emilion- trampled by points and pundits. Luckily, this very well balanced Barde Haut is proof that refreshing purity can still be found on the right bank of the river. This sweet fruited, pure, plummy Bordeaux will drink well with an hour in the decanter and a skirt steak now, or for many years into the future.
Drink from 2015 to 2027

2011 d'Yquem, Sauternes (375ml)
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  It is very hard for any wine as venerated as Chateau d'Yquem to live up to the expectations that its fame creates. This 2011 delivers on all promises- it is great wine. While it is only a light straw color now, it has authoritative viscosity, full, clean botrytis sweetness and a kaleidoscope of complexity that is impossible to duplicate. Put this in your cellar and forget it for many years and it will be even better than it is now. Wow!
Drink from 2015 to 2061

2011 d'Yquem, Sauternes
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  It is very hard for any wine as venerated as Chateau d'Yquem to live up to the expectations that its fame creates. This 2011 delivers on all promises- it is great wine. While it is only a light straw color now, it has authoritative viscosity, full, clean botrytis sweetness and a kaleidoscope of complexity that is impossible to duplicate. Put this in your cellar and forget it for many years and it will be even better than it is now. Wow!
Drink from 2015 to 2111

2013 Michel Delhommeau "Harmonie" Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
 By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  Not to be confused with varietals such as "Muscat", "Moscato", or "Muscadelle", Muscadet is a region in western Loire Valley growing a dry, crisp varietal called "Melon de Bourgogne". Green apple skin, citrus, sea shell, salt, wet stones, and surprisingly tropical pineapple flavors make this a perfect compliment to seafood, but especially oysters or mussels! And for those looking for an easy sipper on its own, there is hardly anything more satisfying than a well-balanced Muscadet.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Terroir Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  An intense, but classic Bordeaux-blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Petit Verdot, Merlot, and Malbec, and aged entirely in French Oak, the 2012 Terroir Napa is serious wine at a bargain price. Blackberry, cassis, ripe plum, spicy cherry, mocha, and a touch of vanilla inform the palate, while a sturdy tannic backbone brings it full-throttle to the finish. Perfect with that marbled, New York strip you've had your eye on.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2007 Bodegas Puelles Rioja Reserva
 By: Ivan Diaz | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  This is one of the world’s only regions that ages wine FOR you, ensuring its quality upon release. This traditional technique means current releases can sometimes be 7-8 years old (such as this one) or more, and it shows in the vivid flavors. Dried red fruit, tea leaves, licorice, tobacco, soft acidity and persistent tannin make this ideal with lamb shank, Spanish sausages, or pork medallions!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Capbern Gasqueton, St-Estèphe
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  Very classic St-Estèphe with all its exotic spices, forest floor, tobacco, but with a delicious note of sweet dark fruit and vanilla on the nose and on palate. The higher percentage of Cabernet gives it a beautiful note of menthol/eucalyptus as well as a firm tannic structure. This one I would put in the cellars or decant to drink now.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2009 Tronquoy de St-Anne, St-Estèphe
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  Being softer and friendlier than the 1st wine, Sainte-Anne is pure pleasure to drink right now. Brown sugar, cocoa, pepper spices and a core of sweet dark fruit. The tannic structure and acidity frame its softness nicely. With all its charms, it is ready to go now.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2009 La Cardonne, Médoc
 By: Jacques Moreira | Review Date: 1/17/2015 | Send Email
  La Cardonne is very much a northern Médoc wine, very Saint-Estèphe-like. Full of spices, and dark fruit, with a tannic structure that makes this wine a very good candidate for the cellars or with a plate of charcuterie.

2012 Georg Albrecht Schneider "vom Rotliegenden" Niersteiner Hipping Riesling Spätlese Trocken (dry)
 By: Olivia Ragni | Review Date: 1/16/2015 | Send Email
  I tasted this wine before I checked the price and I’m just stunned at the price tag on this wine, just an insane value. The nose is so elegant, with notes of honeysuckle, white peach, persimmon and wet stone. The first few things I noticed about the palate is the piercing acidity and beautiful full, rich body that over the next few years will integrate nicely with the flavors of peach, apricot and lemon basil. Get this stunning dry Riesling now; it should improve over the next 5 years.

2013 FRAM Shiraz Swartland
 By: Ed Donovan | Review Date: 1/16/2015 | Send Email
  If I'd have tasted this blind I'd have guessed Languedoc, but no matter. It's old-vine Shiraz grown in rocky soils and it is flat out delicious. Rich and powerful yet structured and even elegant, with plenty of dark fruit and a hint of smoke and game, this would make a great pairing with a wide range of roasted or braised meats. Writing this reminds me that I should get some before everyone figures out how good it is.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart DC 90 BC 0

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>