Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
Macallan 18 year old Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Here is the Rolls-Royce of single malt. Not everybody needs a Rolls-Royce -some people dream of one others detest the idea of Luxury for luxury's sake. Nonetheless, Macallan has built a reputation over the last half century for producing the finest sherried malts on the planet. Geek will argue about whether that's still the case, but no one can deny that this is top notch stuff. That's why I call it a "message malt". It sends a strong message no matter what you're trying to say.

2012 Center of Effort Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Rare is the case that a new Chardonnay comes across my desk that really has something to say but that is exactly what the 2012 Center of Effort did. It spoke, and it did so clearly and efficiently. From estate fruit that is planted to rockier/sandier soils than what’s found in the majority of Edna Valley this is from one Heritage clone of Chardonnay that was planted in 1997. Furthermore the wine making team of Mike Sinor (Ancient Peaks, Sinor-LaVallee) and Nathan Carlson (EOS, Tolosa) select only the best block on the estate property to make this wine. A very rich nose full of brioche, custard and orange oil comes together nicely without being overbearing or over “made” here. Slightly tropical and nicely weighted this is a full throttle Chardonnay that is still balanced and energetic. Its backbone of solid calcareous minerality is a wonderful foil to the creamier notes of oak toast, white pineapple and apricot on the palate. Simply put this is one of the best new $30 Chardonnays I’ve seen this year and a wine that is sure to please fans of the larger side of the varietal while still being intriguing to the folks that are looking for balance above all else.

Faultline Straight Bourbon Whiskey 750ml
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This bourbon has it all...It has the aromas, the richness, length and the spice. This well rounded bourbon is the third round of this amazing joint project we have going on with Smooth Ambler, and it looks like the quality is only getting better. At 50% ABV, what's not to love?! Mix it in cocktails, drink it straight, you can prepare this gem in whichever fashion suits you. Bourbon lovers- a must try for sure!
Top Value!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Amaury Coutelas "Cuvée Louis Victor" Brut Champagne
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  A very interesting concept in Champagne and one that delivers quality and flavor wise beyond the unique approach. This wine is basically a single vessel "solera" where each year 100cs worth of wine are removed from the large oak barrel and then an equal amount of vin clair is added back. Current disgorgement is 2007-2012 base. The wine has tons of pure, juicy fruit, lovely floral high notes and great richness on the palate. The finish is defined by taught acidity and good chalky structure. A wine with real presence and persistence on the palate.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

WINE CLUB

Club Price: $29.99
BC 0

Laurent-Perrier "Cuvée Rosé" Brut Rosé Champagne
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Stylistically, Laurent Perrier is one of my favorite Grand Marques. I gravitate towards their bright, vibrant house style and that's exactly what you get in the Laurent Perrier "Cuvee Rose" Brut Rose Champagne?. While the rose is 100% pinot noir and macerated with full skin contact, this rose is surprisingly lifted and understated for receiving such a heavy handed treatment. The nose and palate are loaded with copious amounts of red berry fruit with ripe strawberries taking center stage supported by a backdrop of clean minerality. The refreshingly tart finish of cranberries and pomegranate make this rose the perfect accompaniment to any special occasion.

2006 Launois "Spécial Club" Brut Blanc de Blancs Champagne (ships as 1.5L)
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another great Special Club bottle from Launois. Quite unusually for Champagne this bottling is becoming a perennial stalwart! Rich, decadent...ripe for Chardonnay standards in Champagne but certainly no lack of freshness and vibrancy. A powerful wine with the mouthfeel you might associate with a bigger more Pinot based wine...but the flavor says this is all Chardonnay! Toasty orchard fruit, savory Croissant, chalk and spiced pear with more air. Lots of depth from these 60+ year old vines.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Ariston Aspasie "Cepages d'Antan" Brut Champagne
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  How can you put a price on tasting rare, almost extinct varietals from champagne like Petit Meslier, Arbanne and Pinot Blanc? Especially when they taste as amazing as the Ariston Aspasie Cepages d'Antan! When first popped the nose is quite subtle and delicate. After a little time in the glass, the Pinot Blanc begins to dominate with aromas of white nectarine, star fruit and orange blossoms. With even more time in the glass, the native varietals begin to express themselves with strong notes of chalky minerality and a hint of savory herb. Top this off with a strikingly long finish of limestone chalk and you have a champagne that is unlike anything you'll find on most wine store shelves.
Price: $99.00 Add To Cart BC 0

2004 Fleury "Cuveé Robert Fleury" Extra Brut Champagne
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  One of the most intriguing Champagnes we have in stock (and that's saying something!) I love this wine's counterbalance of broad, nutty, toasty richness balanced by it's racy acidity and mineral core. The Pinot Blanc adds great palate weight while the roasted orchard fruit and stony, flinty mineral flavors linger long on the finish. Great food wine.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Krug "Grande Cuvée" Brut Champagne
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Customers constantly ask me what my favorite champagnes are and I always tell people that each bottle is like a child to me and you can't possibily ask a mom to pick a favorite. But its a pretty well-known secret that Krug has always been a special little "baby" for me. Krug is hands down my go to tête de cuvée. While priced for those extra special occasions or a moment when you want to splurge, the Grand Cuvee over delivers and never disappoints. The grandeur of this cuvee is apparent immediately. Aromas of marzipan, asian spice, white flowers and meyer lemon are a mere tease of of what this cuvee possesses. The complexity on the nose is followed by a harmonious balance on the palate between the maturity of the oak-fermented reserve wines in juxtaposition with the focused, delineated acidity that comes from suppressing malolactic fermentation. Gorgeous now, even better with age, the Grand Cuvee is a must!

2013 Domaine du Tariquet "Classic" Cotes de Gascogne Blanc
 By: Jim Barr | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Distinctive aromas of lime-zest and dandelion greens, which carry over in the mouth to a really crisp, clean, mouthwatering set of flavors. From the Southwestern French regional area, this Gem is comprised of Ugni Blanc [hey, Wente Brothers use to call this varietal Grey Riesling back when I first started in this business many, many, many years ago and they even allocated it], Colombard, Sauvignon Blanc, and Cros Manseng [native grape to that area] and provides a wonderful bright, flashy finish with a slate-like mineral note. This Gem is a go-to wine when you want to serve shellfish or lighter seafood dishes. The Bean has informed me that I need to bring home this delicious wine in case lots. Don’t miss it! ....... 10.5% ABV
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Mount Trio Sauvignon Blanc Great Southern Western Australia
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  This juicy and fresh bargain falls into the no-brainer category when grabbing something while on the way to a party or picnic. Although this is from Australia it will remind you more of New Zealand with its snappy and crisp flavors of citrus, passionfruit and kiwi. The savory aromas of herb, white flowers and lime invite you to dive right in.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2013 Rickshaw California Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Another winner from the boys at Banshee. Light medium body with red fruit dominated flavors with hints of plum, cola, cinnamon and forest floor. As usual, not much better in this price point for California Pinot Noir.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Eyrie Vineyards "Estate Grown" Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Red and black fruit nicely balanced with underlying structure and acidity. Cola, rhubarb, forest floor and spice beautifully integrated. The 2012 are a little riper than the past couple of vintages but this wine keeps it's balance perfectly. One of the best of the 2012's from Oregon.

2012 Pessagno "Central Avenue" Monterey County Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  A favorite of all the K&L staff at the tasting down at the Pessagno winery. Red fruits, heavy pomegranate and spice. A great price point to boot.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2013 Drew "Gatekeepers" Anderson Valley Pinot Noir
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Exceptional Anderson Valley Pinot Noir. Drew wines are some of the hottest wines in the store. Quality and price in one bottle.
Price: $31.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Bowmore 15 year old Darkest Sherry Casked Islay Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  I think the 15 year is probably the most iconic of the standard Bowmore selections because of the extra sherry maturation. The richness really drives home that combination of sweet and peat that makes Bowmore what it is. Campfire smoke, phenolic elements, but ultimately a softer, more rounder mouthfeel. Lovely stuff.

2013 Elephant Hill Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  An awesome expression of NZ savvy with a point of difference from the oceans of Marlborough Sauv Blanc that we are all familiar with. This is grown in Hawke's Bay on the north island. The climate is warmer than in Marlborough so the wine is not grassy and herbaceous but instead more focused on riper citrus, peach, papaya notes. The palate is rich and weighty with a soft, juicy texture. Elephant Hill's perfect coastal site just feet from the ocean preserves a nice acidity in the wine and gives a subtle salinity that makes it so mouth watering! Exceptional value thanks to our direct import.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart AG 90 BC 0

2013 Bishop's Peak San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  I am a big fan of the Talley Vineyards wines. Their single vineyard bottlings from Rincon and Rosemary's vineyards are benchmarks for great Central Coast Pinot Noir. While these wines justifiably command premium prices, we have also been stocking their slightly more affordable second label Bishop's Peak wines for several years now. It is frankly tough to find great California Pinot Noir for less than $20, but the Bishop's Peak 2013 bottling really over-delivers. Plenty of ripe red and black fruits and intriguing spice notes. Rich and round in the mouth with lovely weight. Complex and multidimensional. Great Pinot Noir character at a terrific price.
Top Value!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Fromm "La Strada" Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Fromm has been crushing it with their Pinot Noir's the last couple vintages! Fresh red fruit and rose petal aromatics, vibrant and spicy mid palate, pure fruit without being rich or cloying, and fine tanins on the finish. Every sip continued to impress with overall vibrancy and balance. Outstanding stuff!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2014 Château les Valentines "Le Caprice de Clémentine" Côtes de Provence Rosé
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Everything you want from a classic Provencal Rosé, fullt of fresh vibrant acidity, elegant red fruit, and a hint of rose petal come together to create the essence of Summertime Rosé. The nose elegantly gives notes of fresh raspberry and Queen Anne cherry, giving way to a palate that is clean and precise. Perfect picnic sipper.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Butternut Chardonnay
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  The ultimate in big, rich, classically California styled Chardonnay. Fully of creamy, lush notes, butter cream frosting, poached pears, rich vanilla. The mouth feel is ultra decadent, full bodied and with a weighty viscosity. The 100% new French oak gives structure to frame the wine, with baking spice and sourdough toast. Rombauer fans will rejoice at the price.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Westland Sherry Wood Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  One of the best American Single Malts I have tasted, period. Westland is doing everything properly, no corners cut, the proper still, and high quality wood, each of these factors going in to creating a whisky that is every bit as good as its’ Scottish counterparts. Full of sherry richness, dates, sweet roasted pecans, and lush mahogany notes, like a fine library. The quality of the sherry really jumped out of the glass, I find that smaller producers often have overall a much better quality of wood due to the fact they are not buying lots of hundreds of barrels, so the essence of sherry barrels are more purely expressed. For Mac 12 fans, this is an exciting local alternative that really offers a ton of quality.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  It should tell you something that the only Chianti K&L imports directly from Italy are the wines of Rocca di Montegrossi. From the heart of the Chianti Classico zone in Gaiole, Marco Ricasoli meticulously produces some of the finest wines to be found between Florence and Siena. The 2012 Rocca di Montegrossi Chianti Classico is a classic blend of 90% Sangiovese and 5% each of Canaiolo and Colorino, aged 12 months in French oak for a polished, elegant style.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Eric Cottat Sancerre
 By: Mari Keilman | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  Carmalized zesty meyer lemon, with hints of melon, grapefruit and a beautiful flinty minerality overwhelm the nose of this easy drinking porch pounder.
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Akitu "A2" Pinot Noir Central Otago (White Label)
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  I couldn't be more excited about the new Akitu wines from central Otago in NZ. The A2 is the less expensive, "entry level" Pinot Noir, but DO NOT be fooled by the price. This is serious wine. Classic Central Otago character. Loads of dark fruit with plenty of weight. Lovely concentration and depth. I took a bottle of this wine home shortly after it arrived on our shelves. I frankly underestimated it until about an hour in the decanter when it suddenly opened up like bright sunshine breaking through the clouds on a rainy day. I am not certain but it is entirely possible I heard a faint sound of distant trumpets. If you are a fan of NZ Pinot Noir you can't afford NOT to try the Akitu A2 given the price. And if you have yet to discover the wines of Central Otago, this is the perfect opportunity to see what you have been missing. Oh, and yeah, almost forgot - the label is totally cool.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Larteau, Bordeaux Supérieur
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  If you are seeking evidence of the extraordinary values available from the 2009 vintage in Bordeaux, look no further than the 2009 Chateau Larteau, Bordeaux Superieur. Notes of fresh black plum - so ripe and sweet you can practically feel the juices running down your chin - and jammy, sour cherry preserves. Classic '09 - fresh and lively with a silky smooth texture and fine tannins. 100% Merlot aged for 18 months in French oak. An unbeatable bargain at a mere $10.99.
Top Value!
Price: Hidden View Price BC 0

2013 Elephant Hill Sauvignon Blanc Hawke's Bay
 By: Jeff Garneau | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  You're flying first class with this 2013 Hawke's Bay Sauvignon Blanc from Elephant Hill. Plenty of extra room to stretch your legs or recline your seat. Settle in for a comfortable trip with generous, ripe fruit - classic gooseberry accented with exotic, tropical fruit notes. Bright and fresh, yet luxuriously appointed with a rich, smooth texture. From first sip to final glass, you'll appreciate the extraordinary value of this classic NZ Sauvignon Blanc. First class quality. Economy class pricing.
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart AG 90 BC 0

2013 TWR (Te Whare Ra) Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  While I loved prior versions of this favorite Pinot, this new expression from a near perfect vintage took a different qualitative turn with the inspired interplay of fruit from another site, creating a generous, complex, elegant rendering, the epitome of depth, sophistication and grace— perfumed aromas of dried flowers, forest mushrooms intermixed with wild strawberry, red plum and raspberry fruit on the palate. Well-defined acidity and a fine, harmonious finish, winemakers Jason and Anna Flowerday have surpassed their own uncompromising standards with this wonderful Pinot Noir. Not to be missed!
Top Value!

2012 Ellero "Pisa Terrace" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Central Otago has, over the last decade, become the hot spot in New Zealand for Pinot Noir, and there are so many super producers and bottlings that it can be impossibly hard to keep up, but luckily we have Ryan Woodhouse, our inspired explorer and savvy spelunker of all things Kiwi-driven. Ok, maybe not spelunker, unless we’re talking wine caves. The Ellero comes from ‘Pisa Terrace’, a precious parcel of organic vines that may or may not grow on a badly tilted hillside …. anyway, this is a serious, well-wrought wine, combining both fine concentration and clarity, with a brilliant array of silky black and red fruits, savory tea spice, structured tannins and earthy, textural notes on the persistent finish. A masterful stroke of winemaking, likely to evolve beautifully for several more years.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart JS 92 BC 0

2013 Domaine de Begrolles Muscadet-Sèvre et Maine sur Lie
 By: John Majeski | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Diving into a chilled platter of locally-harvested Hog Island oysters accompanied by a crisp bottle of Domaine de Begrolles white is about as good as it gets— the marriage of mollusk and Muscadet is made in heaven, or as close as one can get while sitting by the bay on a warm summer day. This delightfully dry wine hails from Sevre et Maine not far from where the Loire River empties itself into the Atlantic, imbuing the wine with welcome marine influences— whispered salinity, seashell and iodine notes to complement the white flower, citrus and leesy elements. A great little wine to clean your palate without cleaning out your wallet.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 GRÜNER by Etz Grüner Veltliner Kamptal (1L)
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
  This Gruner took me completely by surprise. Not only does it embody all that I love in a Gruner: racy acidity, great lime, grapefruit, green apple aromatics, and fresh, light body, but it is far more complex than I look for in this price range. The Etz brothers have a stunning attention to detail in their wine making, that shows in this incredible bargain Gruner. Truly impressed by this wine!
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1985 Hospices de Beaune (Leroy) Mazis-Chambertin Grand Cru "Cuvée Madeleine Collignon"
 By: Keith Wollenberg | Review Date: 3/31/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  This legendary wine was the first Burgundy to which Robert Parker ever awarded a perfcet 100 point score. It comes from the rich and legendary vintage of 1985, teh best of which are fully mature and drinking fabulously. This was acquired directly from a noted local collector, who bought it on release and has kept it in hi sperfectly controlled extensive cellar. If you are looking for somehting truly exceptional look no further!
Drink from 2015 to 2020
Price: $3,450.00 Add To Cart RP 100 WS 91 BC 0

1998 Tamdhu 16 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular (Douglas Laing) Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  In my tasting notes for the Tamdhu 16 I wrote: very good, refreshing with round malt flavors.Pretty. Easy to drink and enjoy. Nice long finsh. The Tamdhu has all of these qualities and should please most single malt drinkers.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Domaine Fontsainte "Gris de Gris" Corbières Rosé
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  Delightful rose at a great price! This wine is light, with bright acidity, great strawberry/cherry and floral aromas, and a delightful hint of minerality. Because of its light body, it drinks more like a white wine, and is perfect for warm weather. I could drink this all day...
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Ermacora Pinot Bianco Colli Orientali del Friuli
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  Aromas of lemon and wet sand start this Pinot Bianco off in a precise and steely vein. The first impression is belied, however, by the mid-palate, which does have a little roundness to it, with flavors of tangerine, a hint of just-ripe pineapple, and raw almond, with mineral backing. An excellent choice for a vibrant, refreshing, everyday white wine that’ll blend seamlessly into a wide variety of circumstances.
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Gin 750ml
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  Being a gin lover, I was excited to try this new Batch 2 gin from Sean Venus. Though I'm not a big fan of barrel-aged gins generally, this one changed my perspective. Though it certainly inherits some of the toasty vanilla feel from the barrel, this gin retains all the herbal, aromatic character and brilliance of the Batch 1, but with an added richness from the barrel, and more of a tangy orange character. This would be perfect for a negroni or anything with a sweet vermouth. Love it!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Marietta "Old Vine Red-Lot #62" Red Blend
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  Jake and Scot Bilbro have re-launched their father's historic winery into the future. The Marietta Old Vine Red is still an amazing value and really, really good stuff. I love that they are carrying on the tradition of deliciously drinkable, affordable, well-made juice with this wine. Always a blend of old vine Zinfandel (and a few other reds they won't tell you!). Blackberry, black currant, cassis, and spice with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Throwing a BBQ? Hosting a graduation party? Having a wedding reception? Kicking off the summer with a block party? This is one wine that needs to be on your list!
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Patton Valley Willamette Valley Pinot Noir Rosé
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  My friend Derek, the winemaker at Patton Valley, has made us such a fun rose to kick off the rose season! All Pinot Noir, this puppy is brimming with cranberry, red cherry, strawberry and red currant with zesty, fresh acidity. Pull up a chair on a sunny patio, pour a glass of this delightful rose, and let your cares fall away! But you better hurry- I might just buy it all first!
Top Value!
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Anchor Old Tom Gin 750ml
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  This year is the first year that I have played around with the Old Tom sweeter style of Gin, and the Anchor Old Tom now has a permanent position on my home bar shelf. Slightly sweet, with notes of lemon and orange zest, and spicy juniper, this Gin is absolutely fabulous mixed with blood orange juice and a bit of soda water! Or, try it with grapefruit juice! Such a fun and festive gin for springtime!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2011 Willowbrook "Altes Vineyard" Sonoma County Syrah
 By: Jim Boyce | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  We don't receive the Willowbrook wines too often, but when we do they never fail to over-deliver! For $10, you are getting pure, delicious Syrah from a great Sonoma Valley site. Bacon fat, cracked black pepper, and a touch of smoke as soon as the cork is pulled. Pure black fruit, rich but not at all sweet, and savory notes with great balance. Dollar for dollar, this may be the best deal in the store right now!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Venus Spirits Batch #2 Gin 750ml
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  I've got a new favorite barrel aged Gin, and its name is Venus Batch 2! Sean Venus hits it out of the park with each bottling of his carefully crafted, local Santa Cruz spirits. Not just another bottling of the same darn gin just thrown into a barrel, Venus actually created this spirit independent of his Batch 1 gin. Batch 2 winks at you from the shelf with a bright amber sparkle, with dried orange peel, nutmeg, star anise and gingerbread teasing you to make yourself a Negroni, for goodness sake! This puppy will be a mainstay on my bar from today forward!
Price: $36.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Akitu "A1" Pinot Noir Central Otago (Black Label)
 By: Sarah Covey | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  The Akitu 1 Pinot Noir Black Label is a stunning, undeniably elegant wine. With clonal material from DRC in Burgundy, it shows all of the grace and poise of its genetic roots, with the vibrancy and purity of fruit I love about Central Otago Pinot Noir. Black currant, plum, red cherry, sandalwood, spice, red roses, and mineral, with medium plus acidity and medium tannin. Described by the winemaker as "The Chanel Suit" of his two Pinots (the Akitu 2 is his flashier "Dolce & Gabbana"), like classic Chanel, this wine is stunning now, and no doubt will continue to age with understated elegance. Buy as much as you can.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Il Valentiano Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  Yay to direct import!! This is yet another great value juicy fun easy drinking Sangiovese hand picked by our Italy wine buyer Greg. Drink up, stock up, this bottle won't last long in our inventory!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sharp Zombie Rioja
 By: Angie An | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  This is your no guilt, easy drinking middle of the week wine. Best paired with pizza, burger while watching a zombie movie and relaxing. It's 100% Tempranillo done in a juicy lively style. It doesn't take a sharp zombie to realize its awesome value! (pun totally intended)
Top Value!
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Castillo de Monseran Garnacha Cariñena
 By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  Having a party? wedding? summer BBQ? This is a great value wine that the staff here has consistently loved. The 2013 vintage is the same great wine with a good balance of bright, full, fruit and solid structure. Sure to please your friends and guests!
Price: $7.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 La Monacesca Verdicchio di Matelica (1.5L)
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  This is one of my favorite wines in the store. Wonderful power, structure and delicacy. No oak aging in this wine. This just show's what happens when a grape and place are such a perfect marriage. Fruit and floral through out the wine. With a great mineral backbone. Lovely texture with a surprising weight in the mid-palate. It is one complex glass of wine. Don't forget the magnum is perfect for any kind of party.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart JS 93 BC 0

2013 Chehalem "INOX" Willamette Valley Chardonnay
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  This old world inspired , unoaked Chardonnay has crisp green apples and pears on the nose, with a great vibrant tang from the acidity. This wine showcases the delicate flavors and characteristics that Chardonnay has to offer without any oak influence. A great Oregonian wine!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Storybook Mountain "Mayacamas Range" Napa Valley Zinfandel
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  This awesome Zinfandel is rich, ripe and structured. It has the length and grip on the finish that I look for in reds. I would drink this bottle any day of the week, and that says something because zinfandel is not normally my go-to varietal. All around a greatly executed wine through and through.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2014 Elk Cove Willamette Valley Rosé
 By: Dave Genevro | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Generous fruit, berry jams, great acidity and finish. Not to mention this rose of pinot noir is simply perfect for all of this beautiful hot weather. Try this with some Atlantic salmon and vegetables...Bam!
Drink from 2015 to 2017
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Casanova di Neri "Tenuta Nuova" Brunello di Montalcino
 By: Illya Haase | Review Date: 3/30/2015 | Send Email
  There is something to be said about less thinking, more drinking. Opinions and scores be damned! This my friends, is just a fantastic glass of wine! Aromatics on this wine are stunning. Picking up just a hint of vanilla. Then comes the dark cherry and violets. Luscious fruit, and a rich refined spice pop in your mouth. What a treat to drink. Food or not, this wine does not disappoint. This is one wine that is not easy to share. So choice your friends wisely.

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>