Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!


Reviews

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>
2012 Baricci Rosso di Montalcino
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/21/2014 | Send Email
  I drank this very good Rosso Di Montalcino last night with Cinnamon's divine eggplant Parmesan. This wine is perfect for any dish that calls for something big and Italian, and has plenty of ripe, extroverted Sangiovese cherry fruit. The texture is lush, without going all the way over to the heavy side. The folks at Baricci have delivered again!
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 York Creek "Estate" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of the 1999 Meritage, which we sold almost 900 cases of, we bring two new wines to you from the fantastic 2005 vintage in Napa Valley. The 2005 Estate Cabernet Sauvignon was possibly my favorite wine in the most recent batch of wines tasted from this winery; I certainly thought it was the most crowd pleasing. With a nose packed full of red fruits, a pleasing minty/mountainous tone and a touch of Amaro-like herbal spice this is one complex and alluring nose. Supple, plush and broad on the palate, this Cab has worn its almost 10 years of age extremely well with little signs of oxidization or drying out in flavor. Perfectly ripe black currant, sweet-tinged pipe tobacco, sous bois and layers of super-fine tannin and a touch of vanilla from the oak are all wonderfully apparent in this long and completely drinkable wine. We don’t have nearly as much of this as we did the 1999 so I’d jump on this quick before it is never heard from again.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2005 York Creek "Sunny Hill" Spring Mountain District Cabernet Sauvignon
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  After the last few years I think just about everyone has heard us pontificating about just how good, and how insanely inexpensive, the York Creek wines are. Luckily for us and our thirsty customers, Fritz Maytag kept deep cellars over the years and still has plenty of wine for us to sell. After the rousing success of the 1999 Meritage, which we sold almost 900 cases of, we bring two new wines to you from the fantastic 2005 vintage in Napa Valley. The 2005 “Sunny Hill” bottling is from one of the numerous single block sites on Fritz’s property high above the valley floor in the famed Spring Mountain District. Fritz told me that the reason he started making all the single block wines was that he really wanted to understand the differences of the blocks of the vineyard. From 100% Cabernet Sauvignon, this wine was easily my favorite of all the single block wines Fritz let us taste on this go-around; sadly, we only have about 50 cases of this. The good news is that there plenty of other single blocks as well and all of them are tremendous in their own way. I thought this wine had the most complex and meshed nose of any of the wines we tasted from York Creek, with a lovely, seamless, masculine array of dusty berry fruit, cocoa powder, stone and a touch of olive. Still incredibly youthful and full of vigor, this wine could easily go another 10-15 years, yet is wildly delicious now with its recently maturing black-fruited ripeness, powerful yet ingrained tannin structure and lovely background notes of foresty evergreen and mushroom. This will certainly not last long and once those 50 cases are gone, well, they’ll be gone for good.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Talley/K&L Wine Merchants Edna Valley Chardonnay
 By: Bryan Brick | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  Back in the late winter/early spring of this year I was really trying to identify a Chardonnay producer that we might be able to do a co-branded wine with. In looking at what we had and what was popular with our customers, I thought Talley would be a great fit for the project. We spoke and we both agreed that we really were excited to work with each other on this level. So at the end of June I drove down to Arroyo Grande to blend the wine with winemaker Eric Johnson out of barrel. There were 13 barrels for us to choose from, all of which were from one of Talley’s estate vineyards, Oliver’s Vineyard, and I got to select five of those barrels for this blend. What I found that day is that if I could have taken all 13 barrels, I would have. The quality of all the barrels was just superb and really showed off the vineyard and all of the subtleties that Chardonnay can have, but rarely does, in California. The final blend was actually the first we put together and while we futzed with it a bit, we agreed that this blend was always the best blend of the bunch. The nose showed a really delicate interplay of white floral notes, baked apple, sandy soil and a richer core of peach flesh and a hit of tropical fruits. With good entering cut and resonating energy and intensity throughout, this richly weighted Chardonnay never felt bogged down in anything excessive like oak or manipulated buttery richness. Instead it traded on its richly textured mid-palate and wealth of stone fruit and cleansing earth aspects as well as a lifting citrus oil note. I honestly couldn’t be happier with the way this wine came out. Thanks, Talley, for making us such an awesome wine!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Sherman & Hooker's Shebang! "Cuvee III" Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Mahon McGrath | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  You may already be familiar with the Shebang red, which has been a big hit for a California red blend. Well, it is time to get acquainted another good bargain bottle from the folks at Bedrock: their third Sauvignon Blanc cuvee. Flavors of tangerine, lemon, and cantaloupe, set against a green shiso note, mark this tasty, tart white. This isn’t grassy, feline, or highly herbaceous, and should be a good all-arounder when a fresh, lighter bodied, inexpensive white is what you want.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Kyle Kurani | Review Date: 8/20/2014 | Send Email
  Cristal is really serious Champagne. Yes it is famous, yes it has a lot of hype, but behind all of that, there is some of best Champagne in the bottle you will find anywhere. The 2006 is a beautiful combination of ripe summer fruit that is characteristic of the vintage, and a driving minerality that comes from the chalky soil from estate-grown grapes. I was well impressed with the golden apple and pear notes that were delivered alongside super-fine bubbles and a precise mineral presence. A hint of nutty richness at the back-end of the palate adds just the perfect balance of richness. This is a wine that will develop in the cellar for years to come and will undoubtedly reward your patience.

2012 Viña Robles "Estate" Paso Robles Sauvignon Blanc
 By: Michael Jordan | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Vina Robles is regularly seen at K&L. A winery with quality wines at fantastic prices. Everything produced by Vina Robles is from their estate vineyards. The Sauvignon Blanc comes from the Jardine Vineyard, which is a 280-acre vineyard planted between 1997-2000. The 2012 Sauvignon Blanc is a clean, crisp white with lovely acidity. Citrus, stone fruit a hint of richness in the mid-palate gives this wine a lovely mouthfeel.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart WE 90 BC 0

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  All the typical delicious fruit you'd expect from a great Cab blend, and a dash of mint. The fruit lingers on to the finish and ends with lively spice. A ridiculous value.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Springvale Vineyards "Melrose" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  What a value!! The nose here has the lovely bright lifted fruit aroma I expect from a youthful new-age Pinot, while on the palate, a delicious crunchy fruit abounds. This wine is as easy sipping as they come. Three cheers for Tasmania!!!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Wow! I often tell customers that Pinot Noir is just too difficult to grow, too temperamental to make, and in far too high of demand for there to be great deals in it. The Greystone has proved me wrong. This reminded me of some of the best Pinot of the Russian River with its ripe, wild berry fruit and bacon nose and full body. This impressive, showy, long-finishing wine is a real discovery, and because of our direct relationship with the producer, a fantastic value.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Please ignore the word "Merlot" on the label--this is 94% Cab and tastes like it! This Great Southern Cabernet Sauvignon from Mount Trio is the best deal in ripe, curranty wine in the store, and folks looking for a good value in this variety should by a case right away! While it has plenty of ripe fruit, it isn't jammy or overwrought... It will have you coming back for more.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sittella Verdelho Swan Valley Western Australia
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Serious wine lovers should take note of this extraordinary and very serious Swan Valley Verdelho from Sittella. Out of 33 wines from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa in our staff tasting, I thought this was the most compelling. Be prepared--it is a high acid style and the last thing I would recommend for folks who prefer buttery, soft whites. I reminds me very much of the best, old vine Aligotes from Burgundy with its concentration, high-toned fruit and laser-like focus... All it needs is some oysters!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2010 Scali "Kalkis Vineyard" Pinotage Paarl
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This is hands-down the finest expression of this varietal I have ever tasted. This smells like a clean, classy N. Rhone Syrah with its sweet, dark raspberry fruit, spice and iron minerality on the finish. This is sophisticated, perfectly proportioned and delicious. If you hate Pinotage or love Pinotage or have never tasted Pinotage, do yourself a favor and try this tonight.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2010 Mount Langi Ghiran "Billi Billi" Shiraz Grampians Victoria
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Another great deal, perfect for summertime grilling & parties. Beautiful berried Syrah, fresh and juicy with surprising structure for a wine at this price. A bit of spice and mouthwatering acidity round it out for a great overall package.
Top Value!
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart JH 93 BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Ripe nose of fragrant white flowers, stone fruits and almonds. Light and delicate and soft on the palate. Rich and smooth, with a very small bead. Long finish. Quite drinkable now but, should age very well in the cellar. Should be available over the course of a year from now. Like the 2005, this one is rarin' to go right out of the chute.

2012 Grey's Peak (Greystone) Pinot Noir Waipara
 By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  I just tasted this today (8/19) with Ryan Woodhouse, our Australia, New Zealand and South Africa buyer. It is quite stunning and is a step away from the usual style of NZ Pinot Noir. This is a riper effort with full, fairly lush red fruits and an amazing finish. Dark cherry fruit with balancing acidity makes this Pinot more substantial than many from the area. It is NOT, however, over-extracted or sweet. It IS a very drinkable, mouthfilling wine that will be just fine by itself or with a nice roasted chicken. Don't miss out on this one, as production is fairly small.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart BC 96

2011 Framingham "Classic" Riesling Marlborough
 By: Sal Rodriguez | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Classic is right in the name. This is the complete Riesling! It's got the typical nose that belies its tasty, youthful profile. It has the fruit - but not too much. It has the acidity - but not too much. It has the sweetness - but it's not too much. In a word - balance! I've had the chance to taste some very tasty Rieslings from some of the best growers, and this bottle is making me reconsider how much a delicious Riesling has to cost. I don't expect this to last long!
Price: $18.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Framingham Pinot Noir Marlborough
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Today's staff tasting was full of some of the best values in Pinot Noir I have tasted in a long time. The Framingham was one of the stars of the day. This big, spicy bacon and maple, ripe black fruit Pinot showed that their is more than just subtle style being made in Marlborough. If you like the wines of Santa Lucia, but are open to spending $25 instead of $50, you should check this big, charming Pinot out!
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart WS 90 BC 0

2013 Springvale Vineyards "Melrose" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Most of the time, when Pinot Noir is under $20, we only hope that it is red, wet and tastes OK. This Tasmanian wine from Springvale Vineyards breaks the price barrier with very good quality, generous, beet and cherry aromatics as well as good weight and fruit on the palate. A must try for Pinot Noir lovers looking for everyday wine!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Sittella Sauvignon Blanc-Semillon Margaret River Western Australia
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This clean, refreshing Sauvignon Blanc & Semillon blend from Margaret River in Western Australia offers incredible value. The Sittella is very poised, light bodied exceptionally long finishing. I loved the subtle honeyed notes and poised texture and can't wait to server it with a lobster roll or just by itself!
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  This is a seriously good bottle of wine and I would put it up against any $40.00 Pinot Noir we carry. This has earthy aromas of dark fruits and wild berries touched by herb and spice nuances. The complex array of red and black fruit flavors is followed by a schist-like mineral finish showing fine grained tannins and great length. The impressive depth is tempered by balance and proportion.

2013 Riposte "The Dagger" Pinot Noir Adelaide Hills South Australia
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  Who knew sub-$20 Pinot Noir could taste this good? Cherry, vanilla, and just a hint of mint. A surefire crowd-pleaser that's perfect for your next dinner party.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart JH 95 BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Amy Monroe | Review Date: 8/19/2014 | Send Email
  From the world's southernmost winegrowing region comes an exceptional effort in Pinot Noir that is not to be missed. Violet, black cherry, plum, a hint of minerality, and an amazing texture. If you can keep your hands off it, this is a wine that will be doubly rewarding after a few years in the cellar. If you can't, give it a splash in a decanter, and then prepare to be impressed.

Casamigos Blanco Tequila 750ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  Incredibly smooth, and smells...fresh. And, um, George Clooney and Cindy Crawford? Yes please.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart WE 92 BC 0

2012 Trefethen Estate Napa Valley Dry Riesling
 By: James Knight | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  Is it getting toasty in here, or is it the Trefethen Dry Riesling? This Riesling is just beginning to show its more intriguing side; the 2013 is already coming out, so snap up the 2012 while you can if you want to see what this south Napa Valley Riesling can do with just a little bit of age on it--ideally, you'd want to follow this over a few more years. To read the critics' comments from 2013, above, you'd think this was just another, albeit nicely done, fresh and fruity California Riesling. Well, in a way, but at this point the aromas are of toasty, Meyer lemon marmalade and fresh pear...cast in bronze, with Buddha's Hand citrus infused in honeycomb; off in the distance, the petrol is approaching. Dry-ish but gaining weight. For me, this is respectable Riesling because it's not tutti-fruitti, nor is it an overly restrained, simply crisp and floral/pastry-floury version (although, curiously a second bottle of the 2012 showed less of the marmalade and mineral oil notes and seemed restrained than I note above).
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Mount Trio Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot Great Southern
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Wow, seriously $13.99! One of the best value Cabs I have tasted from anywhere...ever! From a small family estate in Porongurup (a region that is quickly establishing itself as one of the most exciting cool climate areas in Australia). Dense, concentrated dark fruits, sweet spices, chocolate hints and pipe tobacco. Broad and fleshy on the palate with excellent power and definition. Ripe tannins that are soft and silky, fresh acidity to balance the richness of the fruit. Really exceptional value for big cab drinkers. Would be a great deal at $20 so at this price it's a steal!
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2018
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Springvale Vineyards "Melrose" Pinot Noir Tasmania
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Super cool Pinot Noir from Tasmania. Very elegant, bright and juicy. Lovely, fine, soft structure. Pure fruit, sweet spice and a sprinkle of dusty earth. A perfect wine for lighter dishes when you still feel like a glass of red. For grilled salmon, chicken etc. Super easy-drinking and the price is spot-on for everyday enjoyment. I will be drinking this wine regularly this summer / fall. An exciting (and excellent value) first direct import from Tasmania!
Top Value!
Price: $15.99 Add To Cart BC 0

1988 Domaine de Baraillon 26 Year Old K&L Exclusive Folle Blanche Armagnac 750ml
 By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  Excellent classic Armagnac that is authentic and special. It has nice fruit flavors with a wonderful rustic earthiness. The finish is long and interesting.
Price: $109.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Domaine Renardat-Fâche Cerdon du Bugey Rosé
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  It's Bugey! Off-dry and fun, with grapefruit skin and rose petals on the nose. Great on its own or with a simple dessert like berry sorbet or angel food cake with macerated strawberries.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Varnelli Amaro Dell'Erborista 1L (cannot ship)
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  Calling all spirits nerds! This is one special bottle! Elegant, unique due to the fact that it is cloudy and unfiltered. This will be quite the treat for your dinner guests when you pull this out at the end of their meal. Given as a gift it will be sure to leave an impression of impeccable taste.
Price: $61.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2009 Langoa-Barton, St-Julien
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  Still a stunning wine to taste and check in on year after year. Round tannins, but firm, pretty, crunchy fruit. A great candidate for the cellar.

Nonino Quintessentia Amaro 750ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  A ton of orange peel in this one, with beautiful nuances of cocoa, vanilla, and baking spices. Gorgeous packaging makes this a candidate for leaving out for nightly consumption.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart WE 96 BC 0

Amaro Montenegro Di Bologna 750ml
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  One of my favorite Amaros! if you are new to the category I suggest you start with this one, not too bitter, not too sweet, and a great way to end a wonderful filling meal.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart WE 97 BC 0

2005 Château de Montfaucon Côtes du Rhône
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  Incredible bargain for such a well made wine with nine years of cellar age! A great choice to have with lamb stewed until tender, over a pillow of polenta with a reduced pan sauce.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 JP & JF Quénard "Les Damoiselles" Vin de Savoie-Chignin Bergeron
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  A great discovery! Pretty with great depth and structure. Try this with a triple cream like St Andre or Cowgirl Creamery's Mt Tam, with a tomato jam or a pear, ginger, vanilla spread on crusty bread.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Domaine du Bagnol Cassis Blanc
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/18/2014 | Send Email
  I love the wines of Cassis, so bright and rich with minerality. Great food wines, I would serve this well chilled along side a big bowl of mussels in white wine with garlic and small pieces of preserved lemons, garnished with a generous amount of chopped parsley.
Price: $23.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Pisa Range Estate "Black Poplar Block" Pinot Noir Central Otago
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/17/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Profound Pinot. Very deep and layered. Starts out with its quite beautiful bright purple / red color and vivid hues. The nose is haunting with spiced violets, thyme, black cherry compote and crushed slate. On the palate the wine is rich and energetic. Layers of dark berries, black cherry, damson plum, and toasted spices. Under all of these flavors is a fascinating vein of raw minerality and slightly wild bramble character. Plenty metamorphic soil qualities showing here in flavor and texture. Despite being quite concentrated and powerful there is nothing heavy or highly extracted about the wines, it is not viscous on the palate but rather lithe and dynamic. This wine again shows the incredible quality to be found in the 2012 Central Otago Pinots. Many believe it is the best vintage ever for the region and after glass of wine like this I can see why!
Drink from 2014 to 2024

2012 Mount Trio Estate Riesling Porongurup Western Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Limey, juicy, floral and fresh. Lovely pure, dry Riesling. Tons of citrus flavors, preserved lemon, marmalade laced with stoney minerals and white blossom. Real drive and presence on the palate with med+ acidity and a mouthwatering finish. Exceptional value in Riesling. This wine just makes me wonder more than ever why Riesling isn't very popular...I could drink this every night! It also shows how this region is producing some of Australia's most exciting aromatic whites.
Top Value! Drink from 2014 to 2020
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2011 Mount Trio Estate Shiraz Porongurup Western Australia
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/16/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Rich, ripe, juicy Shiraz with wonderfully bright aromatics and tons of soft fleshy mid palate weight. Quite a fruit driven style but with lovely savory / earthy nuances to keep it varietally correct and not moving into "fruit bomb" territory. Big, bold flavors but with ample balance and freshness. Asian spices show on the finish that is long and silky. This is sure to be a hit and won't last long.
Top Value!
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart JH 94 BC 0

2013 Mount Trio Sauvignon Blanc Great Southern
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/16/2014 | Send Email
  Fresh, juicy, crisp Sauvignon Blanc at a stunning price. Citrus, white florals, lemon grass and fresh crushed herbs. Super refreshing, crisp and dry. A great everyday white that is perfect with seafood, spicy cuisine or just by itself! Exceptional value.
Top Value!
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart JH 92 BC 0

2013 Maimai Chardonnay Hawkes Bay
 By: Melissa Smith | Review Date: 8/15/2014 | Send Email
  I was given a bottle of this to taste, and ended up building a dish around it that ended up working really well--a very simple garden zucchini soup that was blended and finished with a squeeze of lemon and a dollop of creme fraiche. The rich textures were great together, the chill of the Chardonnay against the warm soup; the pureness of the ingredients really brought out the minerality in the wine as well. So good, I went back for seconds of both.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Joe Manekin | Review Date: 8/15/2014 | Send Email
  Here is our latest entrant in American craft whiskey, a very tasty, skillfully made whiskey from Nebraska. Nebraska? Yes, Nebraska! As mentioned earlier, this is stylistically a Bourbon-meets Sherry-barrel-aged Single Malt. Lovely richness, lots of sweetness and spice from new American oak barrels, but most importantly, the balance, drinkability and elegance of a well made single malt Scotch. These folks clearly studied how things are done in Scotland, and it shows. Very cool new whiskey that is well worth a try!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2012 Lambuena Roble "4 Meses en Barrica" Ribera del Duero
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/15/2014 | Send Email
  I've been saying it for the past seven years: red wine value is centered in Spain. Obviously, there is more to wine than just the flavor. There's intrigue, history, legendary vineyard sites, etc. But there's something to be said for just a great wine at a great price, and with the Lambuena, you're not sacrificing any of the above mentioned characteristics. Lambuena's fruit is grown in one of the best terroir locations in the Ribera del Duero, they add a touch of Merlot, a al Vega Sicilia, and the fruit is bio-dynamically grown. And, again, it's juicy, delicious, deep, and engrossing, and it's $12.99.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/15/2014 | Send Email
  This rich, layered whisky shows just how good young craft malt can be. I am not a believer in paying a high price for young stuff just because it comes from a small hands-on distillery. It has to be in the bottle, and the Cut Spike has the stuffing to justify the price. It is rich and textural without being over the top, and has layers of complexity that caught me by surprise. If you are interested in seeing how good a new distiller can be, check it out!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image Reviewer image
  Fantastic! This didn't really take too long to grow on me, I was hooked at the first waft of the wonderful vanilla and malty aromatics. Long and rich with a great touch of sweetness--who knew the Nebraskans had been hiding this gem? It's definitely Scotch-like, but with a wonderful, smooth, rich twist that more than hints at its American roots.
Top Value!
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2006 Louis Roederer "Cristal" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
  The Louis Roederer Cristal is a famous Champagne, and deserves to be an even more famous wine. This all estate grown Champagne comes from fifty hectares of the chalkiest, oldest vine sites on Roederer's 240 hectare estate. They farm these vineyards especially for Cristal, restricting the yields, and for many of the plots farming organically. This 2006 reminds me very much of the 2002 when it was this age; creamy and very mineral at once. It manages to have a full body and retain an extraordinary chalky freshness--I think this will be one of the greats.
Drink from 2014 to 2056

2011 Thierry & Pascale Matrot Bourgogne Blanc
 By: Krista Johnson | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
  I love this white Burgundy. The palate is full of pear, white stone fruits and is held together with a creamy mid-palate. The finish is lively, with a vein of acidity that is so satisfying!
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart RP 90 BC 0

2004 Veuve Clicquot "La Grande Dame-Silhouette Box" Brut Champagne
 By: Gary Westby | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
  This is exceptional stuff, made entirely from Grand Cru vineyards, and from a vintage that we have not seen the likes of since 1988, or after 2004. It is composed of 61% Pinot Noir from Ay, Verzenay, Verzy, Ambonnay and Bouzy and 39% Chardonnay from Avize, Oger and Mesnil. It has a lovely hazelnut nose, with high quality croissant toast, and a clean, long, crisp impression on the palate. This will be great for a special occasion tonight, or for many, many years to come.
Drink from 2014 to 2029

Cut Spike Nebraska Single Malt Whisky 750ml
 By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 8/14/2014 | Send Email
  When the guys from Cut Spike first sent us the sample of their whiskey, they said, "Take your time with it. It grows on you." I would pass that advise along to any K&L customer who buys a bottle. The first time you taste the Cut Spike single malt you'll likely say, "That's pretty good." It's later, however, that you start to really fall in love with the flavors. The new oak adds a dimension that's somewhat between Scottish single malt and Bourbon, but the finish is so rich and integrated that it does indeed remind you of something like Glenmorangie. Personally, I think the Cut Spike whiskey is tremendous, but I can imagine others not being nearly as enthused. It ultimately will come down to personal interest and preference, but I love knowing this whiskey was made 100% in the USA with Scottish techniques and a little American new oak char. That makes it all taste better in my glass.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart BC 0

2013 Shoofly Wines Pinot Noir Yarra Valley Victoria
 By: Ryan Woodhouse | Review Date: 8/13/2014 | Send Email
  Remarkable value Pinot! It's very hard to find solid Pinot Noir in the sub-$20 zone, let alone the sub-$10! Easy juicy fruit, lots of fruit, spice, subtle smoky, earthy characters that make this undeniably Pinot Noir (something that can't be said for all wines in this price point)! It also shows its Yarra Valley heritage with elegant structure and cool profile fruit. I have no idea how these guys make such solid wines from premium growing areas like Yarra and get them on the shelf for $9.99. This is a total no-brainer.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart ST 90 BC 0

Page: 1  2  3   next  >>